x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 

Latest Forum Activity

Upgrading a J690 to 720 w/ mainboard possible?

turbosteve Page Icon Posted 2006-04-06 10:03 AM
#
H/PC Newbie

Firstoff hello, as a first post I wanted to jump in and say hi first I'm an HPC newbie but a longtime PDA user. I've been using PDA's since my first Palm IIIxe. I've worked my way through the gammit of Palms, PocketPC's, Palm phones, PocketPC phones and now back to a Palm phone again (Treo 650).

I just bought a Jornada 690 off eBay (so recently it hasn't arrived yet) and the more I read about the Jornada's here the more I'm wondering if the 720 wasn't a better option. I'm planning on using it for some remote working (email, spreadsheets, word and a few other office related tasks) at home and on the road. I'd also would desire to be able to watch converted movies, remote desktop, run wifi at home, bluetooth and most specifically run GPS mapping programs. Speicifically something marine based for use on my boat. I see OziCE supports the 690 but I would prefer a vector based marine program over a raster one but I'll take what I can get. I need the bluetooth capability mainly since my current GPS module is bluetooth for use on my Treo. If I could get something like my TomTom 5 on my Treo working I'd use it in the car too for routing.

I was wondering though if it's possible to upgrade the internals of the 690 to make it a 720? I'm mainly looking at the ARM compatability and ROM software level for reasons to upgrade. Are the cases essentially the same for both units? Has anyone attempted this before?

Steve
 Top of the page
Jorkapp Page Icon Posted 2006-04-06 10:16 AM
#
Factorite (Elite)