x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

Anyone working on Sig3 Linux?

1 2 3 4
mr-mac Page Icon Posted 2007-09-28 6:56 AM
#
Avatar image of mr-mac
H/PC Elder

Posts:
1,973
Status:
Just wondered,

esspecially now more and more people in the west are getting Sig3's if anyone is looking at Linux for the Sig3....

With it's 64MB ram, Xscale and 8MB Imageon it would be an ideal candidate for an ultra portable laptop replacement running linux...

I quite like CE on it as well and hopefully redgear will bring opera to it at some point - but I would probs consider running two of them one with CE and one with Linux...

Just thought, being how nippy the 720 feels with Jlime and the 728 apparently runs firefox quite well, that the Sig3 would be an excellent candidate.

John
 Top of the page
stingraze Page Icon Posted 2007-09-28 8:13 AM
#
Avatar image of stingraze
Subscribers
H/PC Vanguard

Posts:
3,697
Location:
Japan
Status:
Does it run on 900C?
 Top of the page
mr-mac Page Icon Posted 2007-09-28 8:23 AM
#
Avatar image of mr-mac
H/PC Elder

Posts:
1,973
Status:
Yeah I belive so... but 900C doesn't have a imageon which IIRC does video acceleration, USB and SD card etc...

Would certainly need drivers at the very least....

John
 Top of the page
chiark Page Icon Posted 2007-09-28 9:27 AM
#
Avatar image of chiark
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,330
Location:
North of England
Status:
the ROM is also ROM - non-flashable - on the sig3. It would still be a nice thing to run though...
 Top of the page
mr-mac Page Icon Posted 2007-09-28 9:39 AM
#
Avatar image of mr-mac
H/PC Elder

Posts:
1,973
Status:
Quote
chiark - 2007-09-28 2:27 PM

the ROM is also ROM - non-flashable - on the sig3. It would still be a nice thing to run though...


I wasn't really thinking a total re-rom as 720 is the same, just a loader as they do for other PDA's

Yeah, Would be nice to run...



Edited by mr-mac 2007-09-28 9:42 AM
 Top of the page
stingraze Page Icon Posted 2007-09-28 9:51 AM
#
Avatar image of stingraze
Subscribers
H/PC Vanguard

Posts:
3,697
Location:
Japan
Status:
Yeah, so bootloader plus ATI driver and you're done.... I guess you can use some default drivers for linux? 800X480 is kind of rare, but may be supported.
 Top of the page
chiark Page Icon Posted 2007-09-28 10:42 AM
#
Avatar image of chiark
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,330
Location:
North of England
Status:
800x480 is definitely supported - for example, the Libretto 100CT has just such a resolution...

 Top of the page
nickel3 Page Icon Posted 2007-09-28 11:02 AM
#
Avatar image of nickel3
Factorite (Junior)

Posts:
32
Location:
Germany
Status:
Hi,

running Linux from e.g. CF card has some advantages when you have to do Kernel test work. In case of problems you need a hard reset only to make your system work again.

regards

nickel3
 Top of the page
mr-mac Page Icon Posted 2007-09-28 11:07 AM
#
Avatar image of mr-mac
H/PC Elder

Posts:
1,973
Status:
Ok so in basic terms yeah just a screen driver....

I think it may need things like sound driver, touchscreen support, Imageon driver...

And even after all that it would need work to get suspend working

All similar stuff to Jlime mongo. I also think to make it really nice to use an optimise kernel, X-windows etc. would all be needed to make it up to muster (again along the lines of Jlimes's thinking)...

Is there not any of the JLime guys with a Sig3?

I guess there isn't anything being currently worked on then?

John
 Top of the page
stingraze Page Icon Posted 2007-09-28 6:22 PM
#
Avatar image of stingraze
Subscribers
H/PC Vanguard

Posts:
3,697
Location:
Japan
Status:
Oh yes. The touchscreen support.... How did they support J720 did they write it from scratch?
 Top of the page
cmonex Page Icon Posted 2007-09-28 8:14 PM
#
Avatar image of cmonex
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,175
Location:
Budapest, Hungary
Status:
yes, i think so, from scratch. they had HP's support (info released about the hardware..)

as for 900c, again so, based on disassembly. (it was specific to 900c afaik)

so it is doable
 Top of the page
stingraze Page Icon Posted 2007-09-29 5:45 PM
#
Avatar image of stingraze
Subscribers
H/PC Vanguard

Posts:
3,697
Location:
Japan
Status:
Yeah, the only problem is asking NTT Docomo or NEC for a discontinued device
 Top of the page
cmonex Page Icon Posted 2007-09-29 7:50 PM
#
Avatar image of cmonex
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,175
Location:
Budapest, Hungary
Status:
this was in sig3 bootloader:

Company : NEC Access Technica
Programmer's email address:takayasu (at) necat.nec.co.jp

maybe he put it in there so someone contacts him
 Top of the page
stingraze Page Icon Posted 2007-09-30 5:59 AM
#
Avatar image of stingraze
Subscribers
H/PC Vanguard

Posts:
3,697
Location:
Japan
Status:
I'd bet! We should write a letter, (polite and nice) to show us all the specs of the Sigmarion III!
 Top of the page
chiark Page Icon Posted 2007-09-30 3:43 PM
#
Avatar image of chiark
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,330
Location:
North of England
Status:
it's definitely worth approaching him, but I would imagine that someone talking in the same language would help greatly
 Top of the page
1 2 3 4
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.25 - Cached queries : 71 - Executed queries : 10