x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

Upgraded to latest version of Icewm created trouble with Abiword

Geomancer Page Icon Posted 2008-06-23 4:07 AM
#
Avatar image of Geomancer
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
2
Status:
After upgrading to the new version of Icewm, I started having issues with Abiword. Every letter that I type is it's own row all the way down the page. Is there a way to fix this or do I need to revert to a previous version of Icewm. If so, could you tell me where I can obtain a previous version?
 Top of the page
RTFM Page Icon Posted 2008-06-23 11:52 PM
#
Avatar image of RTFM
H/PC Elite

Posts:
639
Location:
Green Bay, WI
Status:
There are 2 versions of icewm on my download page. I know the development userland has bugs and is potentially unstable. Grab the other one. Or maybe play with its settings or delete /home/root/.Abiword directory. Or try the GPE userland. But last i checked abiword worked fine on both. See screenshots:

http://freeshells.ch/~wicked74/j720/images/gpe-abiword.png
http://freeshells.ch/~wicked74/j720/images/icewm-abiword.png

Remember these are old hodge podge tossed together userlands. If you really require stability and 'properness' i'd suggest grabbing jlime mongo (even though it has no sound driver yet)

Cheers
 Top of the page
Geomancer Page Icon Posted 2008-06-25 9:03 PM
#
Avatar image of Geomancer
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
2
Status:
Well, after discovering how to remove and install packages with ipkg I was able to correct the issue by uninstalling abiword and reinstalling it with this package

http://familiar.handhelds.org/releases/v0.8.2/feed/world/abiword_2.2.7-r0_arm.ipk

Thank you for your advice though. BTW, your pre-packaged image rocks!
 Top of the page
justetina Page Icon Posted 2008-07-07 10:55 AM
#
Avatar image of justetina
Factorite (Junior)

Posts:
35
Location:
United States
Status:
EDIT: Please ignore my post below. I did so many installation this past weekend, I got them all mixed up! Abiword works fine on GPE for me. But it's not on my final installation of IceWm which I got here: http://freeshells.ch/~wicked74/j720/icewm720/. Maybe I'll try re-installing one of these days.

I am having the same problem with Abiword in both the GPE and IceWm version. Of course, an error in my installation is completely possible . I tried all the different versions and all else seems to be working fine except for Abiword. I do most of my writing in .txt so does not matter (except how do I remove Abiword icon from the panel? Holding the stylus on the taskbar did not fo anything in IceWm.) but just wanted to let you know.

Thanks again, RTFM, for the guidance. I finally got things set up.

Edited by justetina 2008-07-07 11:13 AM
 Top of the page
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.183 - Cached queries : 59 - Executed queries : 11