x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

turbo pascal on jornada 720

peto Page Icon Posted 2009-04-05 10:34 AM
#
Avatar image of peto
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
5
Status:
hi,
i want to install turbo pascal program on my jornada 720, how can i do it? when i connect it to pc it says error 678. i was finding how to solve it but i didnĀ“t find anything usefull. please help me. can i install normal pc version turbo pascal on jornada, or i must find special turbo pascal for jornada?

thx

Edited by peto 2009-04-05 10:35 AM
 Top of the page
vintagehandhelds Page Icon Posted 2009-04-05 11:27 AM
#
Avatar image of vintagehandhelds
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
328
Location:
United States
Status:
easiest thing in the world:
download the pockedDos demo from http://www.pocketdos.com/

same site, go to:
http://www.pocketdos.com/software.htm

and there you will find Turbo Pascal for DOS (or at any other abandonware sites such as http://www.vetusware.com/)

Alternately, for a DOS emulator, you could install Bochs's DOS, which is free, but takes more work to set up. See thread here:
http://www.hpcfactor.com/forums/forums/thread-view.asp?tid=13751&posts=6&start=1


Good luck!
 Top of the page
peto Page Icon Posted 2009-04-06 8:31 AM
#
Avatar image of peto
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
5
Status:
thanks for your answer, but i have som questions for you about this
this pascal will work on my hp?
http://www.freepascal.org/down/arm/wince-ftp.freepascal.org.var#wince

a have downloaded pocketdos, and now what? I have to install itt on my PC or just copy itt to my hp? and with turbo pascal i have to copy itt to my hp?

sry for this stupid questions

and when it will work then i will write codes in pascal or in other text editors and then compile it in pascal?


sry for gramatic mistakes i am not english

edit: i have just read that turbo pascal is not compiled for win CE, but free pascal is
what is different between free pascal and turbo pascal?

Edited by peto 2009-04-06 8:41 AM
 Top of the page
vintagehandhelds Page Icon Posted 2009-04-06 1:09 PM
#
Avatar image of vintagehandhelds
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
328
Location:
United States
Status:
To install pocketdos, you have to use Microsoft Activesync to syncronize your Jornada with your PC. If you have Activesync installed and connect to your Jornada, I think you can run the pocketdos installer from ypur PC and it will install automatically on the Jornada.

If you want to run Pascal under PocketDos, you will have to set up a folder on your Jornada that PockedDos will recognize as your "C" hard drive. Go to the pocketDOS menu, it is easy to set up. then just copy Turbo Pascal there using Activesync.
Now, when you start pocket dos, you can type, c:, then cd until you get to where Turbo Pascal is installed, cd to the folder bin and type "tp" and enter (IIRC). Anyways, something like that. This will start the developing environment with compiler and run options, so you will be all set to write your programs and run them from there.
I haven't used freepascal for Windows CE.

Edited by vintagehandhelds 2009-04-06 1:10 PM
 Top of the page
peto Page Icon Posted 2009-04-08 8:12 AM
#
Avatar image of peto
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
5
Status:
so i have installed active sync, the connection between pc and jornada works great. then i have installed pocket dos, and that works great too. but then please explain me how can i set up a C folder, when i can select a letter then there is no c letter, so i chose a letter. and please paste me there link where can i download pascal for pocket pc pls

thx
 Top of the page
peto Page Icon Posted 2009-04-09 7:03 AM
#
Avatar image of peto
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
5
Status:
ok, i have made a folder on hp that PDOS recognise as C drive. now please which turbo pascal i have download to.
 Top of the page
peto Page Icon Posted 2009-04-09 7:15 AM
#
Avatar image of peto
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
5
Status:
I have made it , thank you very much
turbo pascal runs great
 Top of the page
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.155 - Cached queries : 63 - Executed queries : 10