x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

I think I'm officially Number 1 now

1 2 3 4
CE Geek Page Icon Posted 2009-07-27 4:14 PM
#
Avatar image of CE Geek
Global Moderator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
12,433
Location:
Southern California
Status:
I've swapped out the scuffed screens with the unscuffed ones from the two V212s that aren't working properly, so now I have five fully working V212s, all in very good condition. (Just need two V212 battery packs to make the last two complete.) I like the way the V212 is built - easy to get at and swap out parts.
 Top of the page
mscdex Page Icon Posted 2009-07-31 6:18 AM
#
Avatar image of mscdex
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,054
Location:
United States
Status:
What kind of realistic battery life do you get out of the v212? Especially with wifi usage?
 Top of the page
CE Geek Page Icon Posted 2009-07-31 6:24 AM
#
Avatar image of CE Geek
Global Moderator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
12,433
Location:
Southern California
Status:
I haven't tested it fully yet, but based on my usage thus far, I'd say I could browse the Web at least 3-4 hours - and that's with a pretty bright screen. (Dunno how new the battery packs are that came with these, though.)
 Top of the page
cmonex Page Icon Posted 2009-09-01 12:11 PM
#
Avatar image of cmonex
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,175
Location:
Budapest, Hungary
Status:
Quote
CE Geek - 2009-07-17 11:40 PM

I've been trying for the past few weeks to get cmonex to list her devices in the H/PC Census, because I didn't like being shown as having the largest H/PC collection on earth when I knew that she had more than I had. But it may be academic now - I just got a sweet deal on a lot of ViewSonic V212s (seven to be exact). Two work perfectly; one works fine but the whole display has a funny green tint; two boot to some kind of corporate desktop and then shut off; one has a nonworking display; and one won't boot at all.

Nice to have a CE 5 device that actually has instant-on and true suspend - and which I can sync to my PC. Now to try out some stuff on it. One thing I intend to do is install .NET CF 3.5, which I haven't had a chance to check out yet.

Now, if I can just track down a V212 ROM image so I can reflash the two with the corporate desktop.



if that's all the devices you got (7 more than before), then sorry to disappoint - I'm still number 1 but I don't really want to show off plus I'm lazy to type so much for a list...
 Top of the page
CE Geek Page Icon Posted 2009-09-01 1:51 PM
#
Avatar image of CE Geek
Global Moderator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
12,433
Location:
Southern California
Status:
You don't have to type them in, cmonex - you just have to select them from a drop-down list. (Open "Your Settings" and then click on "Handheld PC Census" to see what I mean.)

So you have more than 61 H/PCs, cmonex? (I don't count nonworking devices on my list.) Anyway, I intend to sell about 20 of my H/PCs eventually as I have extras of several of them (as can be seen on my list in my profile).
 Top of the page
cmonex Page Icon Posted 2009-09-05 12:56 AM
#
Avatar image of cmonex
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,175
Location:
Budapest, Hungary
Status:
yes, more than 61 without counting the part machines.

I only have extras of the jornada 7xx and the 900/900c's.

EDIT: ah if it is just a list to pick from, I might get around to doing it. (well, show off after all!! )

Edited by cmonex 2009-09-05 12:57 AM
 Top of the page
CAuser Page Icon Posted 2009-09-05 10:35 AM
#
Avatar image of CAuser
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,278
Location:
Silicon Valley, USA
Status:
I guess I'll try to be No.3. I also have multiples of J6xx, J7xx, MP900, and V212. I'm waiting for a CE6 device to upgrade my collection.

Edited by CAuser 2009-09-05 11:14 AM
 Top of the page
cmonex Page Icon Posted 2009-09-05 1:05 PM
#
Avatar image of cmonex
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,175
Location:
Budapest, Hungary
Status:
Quote
CAuser - 2009-09-05 4:35 PM

I guess I'll try to be No.3. I also have multiples of J6xx, J7xx, MP900, and V212. I'm waiting for a CE6 device to upgrade my collection.


which CE6 device?
 Top of the page
CE Geek Page Icon Posted 2009-09-05 2:05 PM
#
Avatar image of CE Geek
Global Moderator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
12,433
Location:
Southern California
Status:
I'm hoping to pick up an Albatron Tee PC someday - if they ever turn up anywhere at an affordable price.
 Top of the page
mscdex Page Icon Posted 2009-09-05 2:27 PM
#
Avatar image of mscdex
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,054
Location:
United States
Status:
Well, there's always CE 6.0 devices you can order from Hong Kong

I know the SmartQ 5 & 7 have a CE 6.0 image you can download and even run from SD. You can order them from here for $150 and $190 respectively. That site also has some CE 5.0-based MIDs at similar reasonable prices.
 Top of the page
CAuser Page Icon Posted 2009-09-05 4:24 PM
#
Avatar image of CAuser
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,278
Location:
Silicon Valley, USA
Status:
Quote
cmonex - 2009-09-05 10:05 AM

Quote
CAuser - 2009-09-05 4:35 PM

I guess I'll try to be No.3. I also have multiples of J6xx, J7xx, MP900, and V212. I'm waiting for a CE6 device to upgrade my collection.


which CE6 device?

I have not determined the device yet. 'I'm waiting to get a CE6 device' is more accurate. I did notice those SmartQ 5" and 7" devices.
 Top of the page
CAuser Page Icon Posted 2009-09-06 11:11 AM
#
Avatar image of CAuser
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,278
Location:
Silicon Valley, USA
Status:
Quote
CE Geek - 2009-09-05 11:05 AM

I'm hoping to pick up an Albatron Tee PC someday - if they ever turn up anywhere at an affordable price.

Yeah, that's an interesting CE6 device. I have not seen any on the market yet.

BTW, I upgraded my Sony Mylo Com-1 to Com-2 that has an 800x480 touch screen. Pretty neat! Mylo may even be classified as Handheld device with keyboard and touch screen just like most Handheld PC's. Of course, its OS is Linux. The good thing about Mylo 2 is it can even handle YouTube video as it includes NetFront and Flash Lite. Sure, WiFi, camera, mini USB, microphone/headphone combo jack (Sony style) are built-in.

Edited by CAuser 2009-09-06 11:29 AM
 Top of the page
cmonex Page Icon Posted 2009-09-17 1:37 AM
#
Avatar image of cmonex
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,175
Location:
Budapest, Hungary
Status:
Quote
mscdex - 2009-09-05 8:27 PM

Well, there's always CE 6.0 devices you can order from Hong Kong

I know the SmartQ 5 & 7 have a CE 6.0 image you can download and even run from SD. You can order them from here for $150 and $190 respectively. That site also has some CE 5.0-based MIDs at similar reasonable prices.


hongkong? I'll wait until I get to shenzhen/beijing in november
 Top of the page
cmonex Page Icon Posted 2009-09-17 1:38 AM
#
Avatar image of cmonex
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,175
Location:
Budapest, Hungary
Status:
Quote
CE Geek - 2009-09-05 8:05 PM

I'm hoping to pick up an Albatron Tee PC someday - if they ever turn up anywhere at an affordable price.


pff, proper hpc is better
 Top of the page
mr-mac Page Icon Posted 2009-09-17 3:27 AM
#
Avatar image of mr-mac
H/PC Elder

Posts:
1,973
Status:
Quote
cmonex - 2009-09-17 6:37 AM

Quote
mscdex - 2009-09-05 8:27 PM

Well, there's always CE 6.0 devices you can order from Hong Kong

I know the SmartQ 5 & 7 have a CE 6.0 image you can download and even run from SD. You can order them from here for $150 and $190 respectively. That site also has some CE 5.0-based MIDs at similar reasonable prices.


hongkong? I'll wait until I get to shenzhen/beijing in november


One sold on ebay not that long back... Only one I have seen for sale though
 Top of the page
1 2 3 4
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.140 - Cached queries : 70 - Executed queries : 11
Server Time now is: Monday, 26 September 2022 - 11:13