x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

Searching for file called: icewm-image-Mongo-jornada7xx.rootfs.tar.bz2

patrick295767 Page Icon Posted 2010-01-01 7:38 AM
#
Avatar image of patrick295767
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
284
Location:
United States
Status:
Hello

it is said that to install linux icewm on jornada 720, it requires this file that sure works:
but the link is broken

Has anyone still this file (+md5)?

so that one can do :
tar -xjvpf icewm-image-Mongo-jornada7xx.rootfs.tar.bz2 -C /mnt/sdb2ext


 Top of the page
kitor Page Icon Posted 2010-01-01 10:53 PM
#
Avatar image of kitor
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
224
Location:
Poland
Status:
http://jlime.com/mw4/index.php/Download_j700

Userlands
* Mongo
o Mongo 2008-August-7th

 Top of the page
patrick295767 Page Icon Posted 2010-01-02 3:08 AM
#
Avatar image of patrick295767
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
284
Location:
United States
Status:
Quote
kitor - 2010-01-01 10:53 PM

http://jlime.com/mw4/index.php/Download_j700

Userlands
* Mongo
o Mongo 2008-August-7th



unfortunately with the kernel of the file : mongo icewm zimage, jornada 720 says kernel panic
it seems that the tar.bz2 is not working
 Top of the page
RTFM
RTFM Page Icon Posted 2010-01-02 4:05 AM
#
Status:
It works fine.

Use this kernel: http://jlime.com/downloads/releases/mongo/kernels/zImage-2.6.19-rc6
Use this userland: http://jlime.com/downloads/releases/mongo/userlands/icewm-image-Mongo-08.07.08.tar.bz2
Use this bootloader: http://jlime.com/downloads/releases/mongo/bootloaders/jlinexec.exe
Use this params.txt: http://jlime.com/downloads/releases/mongo/bootloaders/params.txt

Now edit params.txt properly.

\Storage Card\zImage-2.6.19-rc6
\Storage Cardroot=/dev/hda2 mem=32m (or mem=64m for j728)

Also make sure when you extracted the userland to your CF card you did the extraction as root user in order to keep the proper permissions. It won't work properly if you did it in a user account.

Cheers.
 Top of the page
RTFM
RTFM Page Icon Posted 2010-01-02 4:08 AM
#
Status:
Sorry don't know what happened but my params.txt pasted funny.

\Storage Card\zImage-2.6.19-rc6
\Storage Cardroot=/dev/hda2 mem=32m
 Top of the page
RTFM
RTFM Page Icon Posted 2010-01-02 4:11 AM
#
Status:
WTH! It's showing fine until i hit submit.... must be something funky with hpcfactor

\Storage Card\zImage-2.6.19-rc6

\Storage Card
root=/dev/hda2 mem=32m

(without the space's inbetween. i'm trying to get this to post right)
 Top of the page
RTFM
RTFM Page Icon Posted 2010-01-02 4:12 AM
#
Status:
Bah... you get the idea. It wont post right. Just use the default params.txt and edit it for proper kernel name and ram.
 Top of the page
patrick295767 Page Icon Posted 2010-01-02 6:11 AM
#
Avatar image of patrick295767
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
284
Location:
United States
Status:
I did all as indicated; it does kernel panic still

I try to understand, but it seems all alright as indicated

shall the parameters be with the LF from unix ?

Jornada says at boot:

Please append a correct root= boot option
kernel panic - not syncing vfs unable to mount root fs on unknobwn block (0,0)

my CF is a kingston of 8Gb
the thing that I do not undersatnd is why OPIE rootfs from freeshells, works and gpe too.

What is the problem ?
 Top of the page
RTFM
RTFM Page Icon Posted 2010-01-02 2:56 PM
#
Status:
Ahh, your CF card might not be supported yet. Try a smaller card. The reason my old 2.4 kernel userlands work is that they boot into an initrd, then they mount the CF cards. With the 2.6 kernel there is no initrd and the CF card is treated directly like a hard drive. If the kernel doesn't have the actual ident strings of the CF card added to it's source it wont be recognized, thus the kernel panic.

There is a thread on jlime's forums that shows current supported CF cards and sizes, and a thread on how to get your specific CF cards ident strings into the next kernel rebuild.

Cheers.

As for your touchscreen issue, what do you mean does not work? Try alt+esc to open the menu, and use arrow keys to navigate to the 'recalibrate touchscreen' option, then hit enter. However it should bring up the calibration screen right away after the first boot.
 Top of the page
raul Page Icon Posted 2010-01-02 6:30 PM
#
Avatar image of raul
Factorite (Senior)

Posts:
88
Status:
Calibration doesn't work, touchscreen too.
 Top of the page
RTFM
RTFM Page Icon Posted 2010-01-02 8:22 PM
#
Status:
Calibration and touchscreen both work, as they have for years now. You must be doing something wrong. Again i stress you must be root when partitioning, formatting and extracting the userland to the cf card. Also use the 2.6.19-rc6 kernel i linked to (i don't know the status of the newer kernels and what works or doesn't work in them).

Cheers.
 Top of the page
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.203 - Cached queries : 61 - Executed queries : 10