x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

Cisco 350 PC Card+Jornada 720= HELP!!!!!!!!!

MasterYster Page Icon Posted 2010-08-07 10:18 PM
#
Avatar image of MasterYster
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
18
Location:
United States
Status:
Hey guys. i recently bought a cisco 350 PC card for my jornada 720. I got a great deal on it but when I received it I found out that the connector on the CISCO 350 was wayyy to big to fit in the supposed PC card slot in the Jornada. When I reread the manual it says I need an adapter. Can anyone point me in the right direction? I can not find any adapter at all! And when i look for a CF Flash wifi card, it turns out they're 70 bucks! I would buy one if it was like 20 bucks at most. So either an adapter or a cheap flash wifi card.
 Top of the page
CE Geek Page Icon Posted 2010-08-07 11:58 PM
#
Avatar image of CE Geek
Global Moderator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
12,667
Location:
Southern California
Status:
There are lots of CF WiFi cards in your price range on eBay right now:

http://shop.ebay.com/?_from=R40&_trksid=p3984.m570.l1313&_nkw=CF...
 Top of the page
MasterYster Page Icon Posted 2010-08-08 3:10 AM
#
Avatar image of MasterYster
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
18
Location:
United States
Status:
But the cisco 350 won't work without an adapter?
 Top of the page
Jacobi Page Icon Posted 2010-08-08 3:43 AM
#
Avatar image of Jacobi
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
114
Status:
are you talking about a Cisco Aironet 350?
I have used one of these in the PCMCIA slot on the Psion Netbook Pro:
it sticks out because it is much longer than a regular PCMCIA data/memory card, but it works.
It's only a cosmetic issue: it's longer than the PCMCIA slot, but most wifi cards do stickout like that, (whether CF or PCMCIA), because it gives greater opportunity for the antenna reception if it's out in the open, I guess.
Did you try to use it yet?
 Top of the page
MasterYster Page Icon Posted 2010-08-08 4:07 AM
#
Avatar image of MasterYster
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
18
Location:
United States
Status:
You wouldn't believe it. The guy before me had this adapter jammed in it. After taking apart my Jornada I removed. The cisco fits in perfectly. The only issue now is how to find and connect to netowrks
 Top of the page
Jacobi Page Icon Posted 2010-08-08 4:55 AM
#
Avatar image of Jacobi
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
114
Status:
so I guess it is an Aironet?
If so, it has a standard NE2000-compatible chip;
on the Psion Pro it did not need any drivers,
the user only had to go to the control panel to get things working in Windows
hope it will work the same for you
sorry I can't help for the details of the interface,
I don't have a Jornada 720
 Top of the page
Jacobi Page Icon Posted 2010-08-08 5:48 AM
#
Avatar image of Jacobi
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
114
Status:

Correction - Scratch NE2000! ... embarrassed by sleepy mistake!

Anyway -
the Cisco Aironet 350 is recognized with drivers already included in Windows CE.NET 4.2.
I don't know about that for the OS on the Jornada 720.
 Top of the page
MasterYster Page Icon Posted 2010-08-08 7:28 AM
#
Avatar image of MasterYster
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
18
Location:
United States
Status:
After extreme searching I came across some drivers that actually worked. I was able to connect and get on the internet! . Now if only I could find a way to play you tube videos on it
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2010-08-08 12:14 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
17,974
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
Quote
Jacobi - 2010-08-08 5:48 AM


Correction - Scratch NE2000! ... embarrassed by sleepy mistake!

Anyway -
the Cisco Aironet 350 is recognized with drivers already included in Windows CE.NET 4.2.
I don't know about that for the OS on the Jornada 720.
No it doesn't. The OEM may have added them but 4.2 does not come with Aironet drivers. You can get them from the HCL.
 Top of the page
Paianni Page Icon Posted 2010-08-08 6:25 PM
#
Avatar image of Paianni
H/PC Elite

Posts:
733
Location:
England, UK
Status:
Quote
MasterYster - 2010-08-08 7:28 AM

After extreme searching I came across some drivers that actually worked. I was able to connect and get on the internet! . Now if only I could find a way to play you tube videos on it
Handheld PC's do not support Adobe Flash, and therefore don't support Youtube, and there are no special applications for playing Youtube videos on Handheld PC's (like there are on Pocket PC's). One alternative is to use a video player, like Wodeon or TCPMP, copy the url of the video to the player and you can play it. I've never tried this as I have never got onto the internet with my Handheld PC's, but it might work.
 Top of the page
CE Geek Page Icon Posted 2010-08-08 8:04 PM
#
Avatar image of CE Geek
Global Moderator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
12,667
Location:
Southern California
Status:
Partly correct. H/PC Pro and H/PC 2000 do support Flash, though only older versions (Flash 3 through 5) that cannot stream video from the Web.
 Top of the page
MasterYster Page Icon Posted 2010-08-08 9:29 PM
#
Avatar image of MasterYster
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
18
Location:
United States
Status:
Well flash player 6 has been modified to work with HPC 2000.... http://hpcmonex.net/izemize.htm go down to apps for arm cpu
 Top of the page
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.187 - Cached queries : 67 - Executed queries : 11