x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

TRADE : Jornada 720 with MobilePro 900 or 900c

1 2
pitone671 Page Icon Posted 2005-06-25 1:38 AM
#
Avatar image of pitone671
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
8
Location:
Quebec, Canada
Status:
Hi,



I would like to trade my Jornada 720 (in good condition, with 64 Meg CompactFlash card and Ethernet CompactFlash card) with a MobilePro 900 or MobilePro 900c. Please make your offer !


Regards
 Top of the page
Pete P. Page Icon Posted 2005-06-25 11:04 AM
#
Avatar image of Pete P.
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
265
Location:
Boston
Status:
Is that trade 720 FOR a Mobilepro or that you have Both 720 and Mobilepro up for trade for a 3rd item?
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2005-06-25 11:25 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
17,977
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
Also, as suggested in the Rules, putting where you are on this blue/green marble of ours may indeed help.
 Top of the page
pitone671 Page Icon Posted 2005-06-25 2:43 PM
#
Avatar image of pitone671
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
8
Location:
Quebec, Canada
Status:
Hi,


Sorry for not being so clear, it is a 720 FOR a 900c or 900. I have only a 720 and would like to trade with somebody that has a 900 or 900c.


Regards
 Top of the page
Pete P. Page Icon Posted 2005-06-26 12:33 AM
#
Avatar image of Pete P.
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
265
Location:
Boston
Status:
[offtopicsarcasm]
Marble? I hope you forgot to add 'For lack of a better metaphor' to that one :-P
[/offtopicsarcasm]

Given that the Mobilepro 900 is like 2x better than the Jornada 720, this may be a tough trade. For another example of a tough trade, see my most recent trade offer :-P
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2005-06-26 7:19 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
17,977
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
Pete,

I think you'll find that one is better branded as a cliche'
 Top of the page
pitone671 Page Icon Posted 2005-06-26 9:14 PM
#
Avatar image of pitone671
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
8
Location:
Quebec, Canada
Status:
Pete P.



I know that the MobilePro is better than the 720. However, there are some advantages to the 720 compared to the MobilePro, it is smaller and runs HPC2000. The 900c runs Windows CE 4.2 and is not very compatible with available software. For what I want to do with the MobilePro it is not an issue for me. I am prepared to exchange the 720 and some cash for the MobilePro the two devices not being of equivalent value. My hope is that there is a 900c owner out there that wishes to go the 720 way !


Regards
 Top of the page
Yoldering Page Icon Posted 2005-06-26 9:29 PM
#
Avatar image of Yoldering
H/PC Vanguard

Posts:
2,579
Location:
The Lone Star State
Status:
Good luck!
You may want to keep an eye out on ebay, because you do not want to compare the 720 to the 900. people here know better, they won't even trade a 900 for a 900c. You would need to add about $400+ or more for the trade.
 Top of the page
cmonex Page Icon Posted 2005-06-26 9:40 PM
#
Avatar image of cmonex
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,175
Location:
Budapest, Hungary
Status:
eh, a nec 900c over 700$? and what about a plain 900, with hpc2000?
 Top of the page
pitone671 Page Icon Posted 2005-06-26 11:01 PM
#
Avatar image of pitone671
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
8
Location:
Quebec, Canada
Status:
Yoldering,


Actually I am more insterested in a 900c than a 900, I want to port Windows CE .NET 5.0 to a handheld. My 720 has masked ROM and upgrading the OS completely is not simple. The MobilePro has flash ROM so I want to use one of those instead. The 900c has more RAM and I do not care what OS the machine currently runs because I will replacing it with CE .NET 5.0. Once I run CE .NET 5.0 I even might want to make a Windows Mobile 5.0 version running on the MobilePro.


Regards.
 Top of the page
cmonex Page Icon Posted 2005-06-27 2:12 AM
#
Avatar image of cmonex
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,175
Location:
Budapest, Hungary
Status:
where did you read that the "plain" 900 had less RAM than the 900C? it is simply not true, both have 64 MB and the only difference is the OS.
do you know how to make a suitable OS image for them? i suppose not yet but if you (or anyone else) do find it out, i'd be very interested
btw, do you already have any experience in this field, or just hope you will be able to manage it? of course no offense meant, just asking. thanks

Edited by cmonex 2005-06-27 2:14 AM
 Top of the page
Rich Hawley Page Icon Posted 2005-06-27 6:25 AM
#
Avatar image of Rich Hawley
Global Moderator
H/PC Guru

Posts:
7,188
Location:
USA
Status:
Apples and Oranges....I've said it a million times....I normally ignore all those "which is better" posts.

However, there is no CE 5.0 upgrade for any of the Mobilepro 900s, and I'd be willing to bet $50 right now there never will be. Any takers?

Rich
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2005-06-27 7:18 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
17,977
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
Rich, if you're suitably endowed with time, making a CE5 ROM isn't an impossible goal.

pitone671, I promise you will never make a WM5 rom for it. CE5, yes and there are a few of us around here also who could bolt one together with you.
 Top of the page
pitone671 Page Icon Posted 2005-06-27 11:26 AM
#
Avatar image of pitone671
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
8
Location:
Quebec, Canada
Status:
C:AMIE



Making a CE 5 ROM is possible, this is partly what I do for living, I port Windows CE to different hardware platforms. Doing this for the MobilePro will probably be insteresting because of the lack of hardware documentation. However since this platform already runs Windows CE the drivers already exists and they can probably be ported or studied to help build new ones.

Regarding Windows Mobile 5 It is technically possible to make a version of it for the MobilePro, by getting chunks of compiled code from an existing WM5 platform and integrate them in a more simple CE 5 platform. However, this would be illegal and I might do it for fun but this would not leave by basement !


Regards
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2005-06-27 11:50 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
17,977
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
hahaha,

and there was me thinking you were going to say you had a Gold Partner Platform agreement with Microsoft.
Yes a rip as you just stated is possible... with quite a bit of decompiling and UI modifications.

That said the idea that a PPC platform wouldn't one on a H/PC is balony, even back in 1999. Microsoft - and I summise you know this as well as I do.
 Top of the page
1 2
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.25 - Cached queries : 71 - Executed queries : 10