x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

HPC:Factor in IE 9 & FireFox 4

1 2 3
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2011-02-14 4:26 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
15,662
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
Well be pleased that there is no Java on this site at all

There is an extremely tiny amount of JavaScript, but nothing more than validation.

If Microsoft (and NetScape) had been standards compliant in the first place, we wouldn't be in this mess; I hasten to point out.
 Top of the page
Quote Reply
Yoldering Page Icon Posted 2011-02-15 4:19 PM
#
Avatar image of Yoldering
H/PC Vanguard

Posts:
2,576
Location:
The Lone Star State
Status:
C:Amie, I just upgraded to Firefox 4 and everything looks great! Wow, it is fast!
 Top of the page
Quote Reply
takwu Page Icon Posted 2011-02-15 8:55 PM
#
Avatar image of takwu
H/PC Elder

Posts:
1,952
Location:
BC, Canada
Status:
Quote
C:Amie - 2011-02-14 2:54 AM
As to the quick reply box, I looked at the code to see if there is a HTML 3 cols tag in it. There isn't. This is all the text box is drawn by:
<textarea style='width:95%' rows='10' class='bbseditbox' name='messagebody' id='messagebody'></textarea>

So it should be coming up as 95% of the width of its container.

In that case it is the rest of the page (nav bar at top etc.) forcing the window to be at least 1024 wide, which is not a biggie for most elements because they don't span the whole width and horizontally scrolling is ok. However a text box spanning that width in a smaller screen just makes using that text box very inconvenient.

so the problem isn't just the text box, but the fact that it is trying to scale (95%) in a not very scalable page (min 1024).
 Top of the page
Quote Reply
Paianni Page Icon Posted 2011-05-18 2:15 PM
#
Avatar image of Paianni
H/PC Elite

Posts:
725
Location:
England, UK
Status:
Opera 11 seems to load the whole site just fine.
 Top of the page
Quote Reply
CE Geek Page Icon Posted 2011-05-19 5:25 AM
#
Avatar image of CE Geek
Global Moderator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
12,282
Location:
Southern California
Status:
I've recently upgraded to FF 4, and I am getting one small quirk on the home page: the horizontal line of links right below the review link ends before reaching the right end of the page, continuing on a second line immediately below. (Other than that it's perfect. )
 Top of the page
Quote Reply
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2011-05-19 8:23 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
15,662
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
Thanks Paspie.

What resolution are you using CE Geek? I have a vanilla install of FF4 running down at 1024x768 and there is no line wrap.
 Top of the page
Quote Reply
CE Geek Page Icon Posted 2011-05-19 10:08 AM
#
Avatar image of CE Geek
Global Moderator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
12,282
Location:
Southern California
Status:
It's set at 1024x600 on my Asus Eee 1000.
 Top of the page
Quote Reply
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2011-05-19 10:58 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
15,662
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
Has the font size or zoom been increased?
 Top of the page
Quote Reply
CE Geek Page Icon Posted 2011-05-20 7:48 AM
#
Avatar image of CE Geek
Global Moderator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
12,282
Location:
Southern California
Status:
Not as far as I know.
 Top of the page
Quote Reply
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2011-05-20 8:39 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
15,662
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
Can you screenie me up Geek-e-o?
 Top of the page
Quote Reply
CE Geek Page Icon Posted 2011-05-20 5:02 PM
#
Avatar image of CE Geek
Global Moderator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
12,282
Location:
Southern California
Status:
I only have it in DOC format, using the Print Screen key:



Attachments
----------------
Attachments homepage.zip (94KB - 2 downloads)
 Top of the page
Quote Reply
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2011-05-20 7:25 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
15,662
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
hmmm, interesting. I had a play with the CSS, how about now?
 Top of the page
Quote Reply
CE Geek Page Icon Posted 2011-05-20 9:09 PM
#
Avatar image of CE Geek
Global Moderator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
12,282
Location:
Southern California
Status:
No change.
 Top of the page
Quote Reply
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2011-05-20 9:24 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
15,662
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
press F5?
 Top of the page
Quote Reply
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2011-05-20 10:26 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
15,662
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
Now?

Argh, why did no one report this before? Looks like gekko has a container height rendering glitch; yes... I did say gekko, not Trident!
 Top of the page
Quote Reply
hpc:factor« View previous thread · HPC:Factor Related Discussion · View next thread »
1 2 3
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.165 - Cached queries : 71 - Executed queries : 10
Server Time now is: Sunday, 9 May 2021 - 2:58