x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

joshua.lin Page Icon Posted 2011-04-27 11:21 PM
#
Avatar image of joshua.lin
Factorite (Senior)

Posts:
86
Location:
Australia
Status:
Has anyone made one of these ? If so could they give me a hand with the pinout
 Top of the page
Thecatmilton Page Icon Posted 2011-04-28 1:14 AM
#
Avatar image of Thecatmilton
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
208
Location:
Dallas Texas
Status:
OOOOHHHHH. I cant believe no one has thought about this yet...
 Top of the page
joshua.lin Page Icon Posted 2011-04-28 8:15 AM
#
Avatar image of joshua.lin
Factorite (Senior)

Posts:
86
Location:
Australia
Status:
haha yer I'd like to give it a shot, as a vga cable isn't that esay for me to get in Australia (The postage costs more than the cable itself !)
 Top of the page
Rich Hawley Page Icon Posted 2011-04-28 10:24 AM
#
Avatar image of Rich Hawley
Global Moderator
H/PC Guru

Posts:
7,188
Location:
USA
Status:
The 900 takes the same VGA out cable as the 770, 780, and 790. They are relatively cheap and not worth the effort of finding a compatible adapter and building one yourself...
 Top of the page
arlex Page Icon Posted 2011-04-28 8:43 PM
#
Avatar image of arlex
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
230
Location:
Bucharest
Status:
Quote
Rich Hawley - 2011-04-28 5:24 AM

The 900 takes the same VGA out cable as the 770, 780, and 790. They are relatively cheap and not worth the effort of finding a compatible adapter and building one yourself...


Hi Rich! Things aren't looking everywhere the way the seem to be in the US. Nearly 2 years ago I paid to a local dealer of HP nearly 100EUR for a display (VGA) adapter for my Compaq Mini 700 series netbook which was listed by HP in the US for 35USD and I was lucky to get it because it is distributed only in the US (why that much exclusivity I have no idea). Maybe it is the same with this VGA adapter for NEC900. Fact is that I haven't noticed many such adapters on eBay in the past 6 month. Sorry, there are a few now (if the right part number) for about 24USD, while shpping outside the US will double the price.
So, just in case, I am also interested in the pin-out. Cheers.

Edited by arlex 2011-04-28 8:52 PM
 Top of the page
Rich Hawley Page Icon Posted 2011-04-28 11:29 PM
#
Avatar image of Rich Hawley
Global Moderator
H/PC Guru

Posts:
7,188
Location:
USA
Status:
I don't know what shipping would cost to Bucharest...but Alancomputech has them for $15...

http://www.alancomputech.com/s1424-12v.html

But I'll look this weekend, I think I have the pinout somewhere....
 Top of the page
Thecatmilton Page Icon Posted 2011-04-29 1:33 AM
#
Avatar image of Thecatmilton
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
208
Location:
Dallas Texas
Status:
with this cable can i play videos on my tv (It has a vga input)
 Top of the page
joshua.lin Page Icon Posted 2011-04-29 3:37 AM
#
Avatar image of joshua.lin
Factorite (Senior)

Posts:
86
Location:
Australia
Status:
arlex
your right when it comes to shipping to australia it costs $25 dollars as well as $30 to post it so all usI'd be in for $55 Just for a cable that I will only us in presetations. And yer good idea with the movies thing, but that would but alot of stress on the little 400mhz cpu (I have heard people have had to overclock just to run at 640x240, never mind 800x400)
 Top of the page
Rich Hawley Page Icon Posted 2011-04-29 11:51 AM
#
Avatar image of Rich Hawley
Global Moderator
H/PC Guru

Posts:
7,188
Location:
USA
Status:
Realize also that even with VGA, you still only display a 640 x 240 screen except when using special applications such as Powerpoint presenter....
 Top of the page
joshua.lin Page Icon Posted 2011-04-29 12:51 PM
#
Avatar image of joshua.lin
Factorite (Senior)

Posts:
86
Location:
Australia
Status:
Rich is right, that is very true :/ But even if it did support a higher res the mp900 wouldn't be able to handle it
 Top of the page
Rich Hawley Page Icon Posted 2011-04-29 1:20 PM
#
Avatar image of Rich Hawley
Global Moderator
H/PC Guru

Posts:
7,188
Location:
USA
Status:
However, I did one time play a cartoon that I had saved in MP4 format on my Mobilepro on a VGA projector. By reducing the frame rate to around 20 fps, and then zooming in using the projector, I was able to project and view it in a very decent manner. Of course that was a cartoon....but there are many many posts here on HPCFactor about how to optimize video display to enable decent viewing....
 Top of the page
joshua.lin Page Icon Posted 2011-04-29 1:36 PM
#
Avatar image of joshua.lin
Factorite (Senior)

Posts:
86
Location:
Australia
Status:
As far as proformace goes, is the 900 better than the 728? I was in a bit of a toss up regarding witch one to buy. I ended up getting the 900 (mainly becasue of the flashable rom and usb host) but I just won't to know if I man the right choice?
 Top of the page
Rich Hawley Page Icon Posted 2011-04-29 2:22 PM
#
Avatar image of Rich Hawley
Global Moderator
H/PC Guru

Posts:
7,188
Location:
USA
Status:
 Top of the page
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.156 - Cached queries : 69 - Executed queries : 10