x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2018-11-14 3:52 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
17,979
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
<---- This is my 'you just dredged up a 7 year old thread' face.

I used to use RealVNC 3.3.7 Server and the clients that I put together here https://www.hpcfactor.com/downloads/details.asp?r={9D9B604D-5FC6-46B... just fine.

See https://www.hpcfactor.com/support/cesd/s/0037.asp
 Top of the page
ntware Page Icon Posted 2018-11-14 8:31 PM
#
Avatar image of ntware
H/PC Elite

Posts:
660
Location:
Florida, US
Status:
Quote
C:Amie - 2018-11-14 10:52 AM

<---- This is my 'you just dredged up a 7 year old thread' face.



This means that I know how to use the forum search pretty well before asking a question that was already asked, right?

Anyway, long time I don't visit HPC:Factor. I missed this place... I friend of mine gifted me a Jornada 720 in very good shape. I might start visiting HPC:Factor more often now!

About the question, I finally figured it out. As I suspected, the culprit was Windows 10 Firewall. Once I configured it to allow connections on the right ports it all worked "fine" using RealVNC 3.3.7 from here: https://archive.realvnc.com/download/get/1100/

I say "fine" because the screen refresh rate was around 1 screen per 15 seconds. Right, the image was only refreshing after about 15 seconds delay! Not to mention the horrible scroll bars that took 30% of the screen. But since I figured out that the firewall was the problem, I gave up on VNC and tried RDP. As I imagined, the old HPC2000 RDP client couldn't connect to my Windows 10 machine. But then I launched up a Windows XP VM, and voila! Worked like a charm. RDP has a very decent refresh rate (I would say something around 2 to 5 frames per second) which means it is very usable. The only problem is that even Windows XP gets huge on 640x240. So I decided to try Nydot Virtual Display on my Jornada, and changed the screen resolution to 800x300. Now I can actually use Windows XP. The text is a bit blurry, but that's ok. Here are some pictures for your vintage delight:

Edited by ntware 2018-11-14 8:39 PM




(pic1.JPG)



(pic2.JPG)



(pic3.JPG)



(pic4.JPG)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments pic1.JPG (67KB - 0 downloads)
Attachments pic2.JPG (64KB - 0 downloads)
Attachments pic3.JPG (63KB - 0 downloads)
Attachments pic4.JPG (71KB - 0 downloads)
 Top of the page
stingraze Page Icon Posted 2018-11-15 1:35 AM
#
Avatar image of stingraze
Subscribers
H/PC Vanguard

Posts:
3,678
Location:
Japan
Status:
nice!
 Top of the page
CE Geek Page Icon Posted 2018-11-15 3:30 AM
#
Avatar image of CE Geek
Global Moderator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
12,667
Location:
Southern California
Status:
Quote
C:Amie - 2018-11-14 7:52 AM

<---- This is my 'you just dredged up a 7 year old thread' face.


These days we have to be happy that people are still posting after that many years.
 Top of the page
stingraze Page Icon Posted 2018-11-15 4:00 AM
#
Avatar image of stingraze
Subscribers
H/PC Vanguard

Posts:
3,678
Location:
Japan
Status:
Quote
CE Geek - 2018-11-15 12:30 PM

Quote
C:Amie - 2018-11-14 7:52 AM

<---- This is my 'you just dredged up a 7 year old thread' face.


These days we have to be happy that people are still posting after that many years.

Amen.
 Top of the page
1 2
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.156 - Cached queries : 62 - Executed queries : 10