x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

NetBSD, Intermec 6651?

« 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... Next »
kitor Page Icon Posted 2012-10-04 9:41 AM
#
Avatar image of kitor
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
224
Location:
Poland
Status:
After a few years without HPC i bought again Intermec 6651. I want to have there some *nix, I know that there was a 2.4 linux kernel working, but couldn't find it anywhere now (maybe I'll try with compiling 2.6 - but I don't have serial cable [maybe somebody got pinout - connector seems like 2-pin shorter than loox600, so should be easy to adapt]).
Anyway, there were reports that NetBSD is working on this machine, and on http://netbsd-france.org/ports/hpcmips/ it's listed too.
I downloaded generic hpcmips kernel, as it was suggested on this page, and after starting pbsdboot (selected HC-VJ1C as framebuffer since it's the same) nothing happends on screen, just like a hang. Probably it's not working framebuffer, but I have no way to check/proof it. Maybe somebody there tried to run NetBSD on this device with more luck than I, and can share the solution?
 Top of the page
kitor Page Icon Posted 2012-10-04 9:53 PM
#
Avatar image of kitor
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
224
Location:
Poland
Status:
Multimeter + disassembled hpc =
Intermec 6651 Serial Cable pinout
1
2
3
4. GND
5. GND
6. GND
7. GND
8
9
10. CARD1WAIT
11 I/O 14
12 TxD
13 RxD
14 ? it's coming to voltage converter, but I didn't find source
15 I/O 13

Rest of pins is unknown - i had tx/rx/gnd already, so I skipped them.

Connector looks like himalaya connector, but 18 pins - I'll try to fit it in there.

Edited by kitor 2012-10-04 9:54 PM
 Top of the page
ArchiMark Page Icon Posted 2013-08-02 4:20 AM
#
Avatar image of ArchiMark
Subscribers
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,196
Location:
Silicon Valley
Status:
kitor, did you every get this to work?.....

 Top of the page
ArchiMark Page Icon Posted 2023-02-21 8:18 PM
#
Avatar image of ArchiMark
Subscribers
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,196
Location:
Silicon Valley
Status:
Hard to believe it's been about 9.5 years ago since I posted above....time flies!

Meanwhile I managed to get an almost like-new Intermec 6651 recently. So, of course, want to see if I can get NetBSD running on it.

I just tried v.5.2.3 and got same result as kitor. With PocketBSD1, it starts loading kernel, but then hangs.....have waited a long time just to make sure....and have to do a reset.

Tried HPCBoot, but there's no option for selecting 'Sharp HC-VJ1C' like on PocketBSD1.

Wondering if there's any options I can try to see if it will work.

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated!

Mark

Edited by ArchiMark 2023-02-21 8:32 PM
 Top of the page
thenzero Page Icon Posted 2023-02-21 8:30 PM
#
Avatar image of thenzero
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
746
Location:
United States
Status:
Does it hang in windows ce or does the screen go blank?
 Top of the page
ArchiMark Page Icon Posted 2023-02-21 8:32 PM
#
Avatar image of ArchiMark
Subscribers
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,196
Location:
Silicon Valley
Status:
It hangs in WinCE....
 Top of the page
thenzero Page Icon Posted 2023-02-21 8:40 PM
#
Avatar image of thenzero
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
746
Location:
United States
Status:
Have you tried both hpcboot and pbsdboot?
 Top of the page
thenzero Page Icon Posted 2023-02-21 8:40 PM
#
Avatar image of thenzero
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
746
Location:
United States
Status:
(can you share your options as well?)
 Top of the page
ArchiMark Page Icon Posted 2023-02-21 8:48 PM
#
Avatar image of ArchiMark
Subscribers
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,196
Location:
Silicon Valley
Status:
Quote
thenzero - 2023-02-21 12:40 PM

Have you tried both hpcboot and pbsdboot?


Yes...

Tried HPCBoot, but there's no option for selecting 'Sharp HC-VJ1C' like on PocketBSD1.



Quote
thenzero - 2023-02-21 12:40 PM

(can you share your options as well?)


I just mimic d what I did when installing on MP790....

Although I used 'netbsd-TX3912.gz' kernel.
 Top of the page
ArchiMark Page Icon Posted 2023-02-21 10:02 PM
#
Avatar image of ArchiMark
Subscribers
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,196
Location:
Silicon Valley
Status:
With PocketBSD, there's not many options....

Besides the Kernel name field and Frame Buffer fields, there is a blank data entry field called 'Options', but no dropdown menu. You have to type something in it if you want.

When I clicked on the 'Properties' button, it opens a window that lists the following:

Auto Boot

Load debug info

Serial port on

Reverse Video

Pause before boot

Thats it!
 Top of the page
thenzero Page Icon Posted 2023-02-21 11:18 PM
#
Avatar image of thenzero
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
746
Location:
United States
Status:
I was mostly curious what option you picked for machine on hpcboot.

I don't think you should be using the TX3912 kernel, but rather the same generic one you used for the MP.
 Top of the page
thenzero Page Icon Posted 2023-02-21 11:22 PM
#
Avatar image of thenzero
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
746
Location:
United States
Status:
So for the install you'd use:
installation/netbsd.gz

and then for normal run:
binary/kernel/netbsd-GENERIC.gz
 Top of the page
ArchiMark Page Icon Posted 2023-02-21 11:33 PM
#
Avatar image of ArchiMark
Subscribers
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,196
Location:
Silicon Valley
Status:
OK, understand.....

Just tried the netbsd.gz file.....

Same result.....Little that window pops up that has heading 'Loading....'. Progress bar is at 100%.

The other PocketBSD1 window says "execute kernel" at the bottom.

But Intermec is frozen now, can't do anything.....have to do reset.....



Edited by ArchiMark 2023-02-21 11:36 PM
 Top of the page
thenzero Page Icon Posted 2023-02-21 11:57 PM
#
Avatar image of thenzero
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
746
Location:
United States
Status:
only thing I'd say is don't give up too quickly. it can take a minute or two to boot sometimes. but if you're waiting several minutes and it's still locked up then i'd go re-download everything and try again with this stuff being the *only* thing on a CF card if you can swing that. also what version are you trying here?
 Top of the page
ArchiMark Page Icon Posted 2023-02-22 12:01 AM
#
Avatar image of ArchiMark
Subscribers
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,196
Location:
Silicon Valley
Status:
Heading home now....will download on my computer there and try again.

I have waited more than 5 minutes...and have left device for awhile and came back and it was still frozen...can't do anything in WinCE...all buttons are frozen....have to do reset....

I did put these files on a 1GB card, is that OK?

On 790, I used a 128MB card to hold NetBSD files.

Trying v.5.2.3.

Thanks!
 Top of the page
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... Next »
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.187 - Cached queries : 73 - Executed queries : 8