x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

C:Amie, might I ask your assistance with KB hotfix installation?

Moderators: insurgent, C:Amie

Jump to page : First : Prev : ... 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 : Next : Last
Now viewing page 10 [15 messages per page]

Alt Bass Page Icon Posted 2014-08-24 1:47 PM
#
Avatar image of Alt Bass
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,038
Location:
Russia
Status:
Windows 7 erases old image when creating image backup.

Goddamit, microsoft.
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2014-08-26 12:44 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
14,756
Location:
Fields End, UK
Status:
If you backup to network, yes. If local it can run differential.
 Top of the page
Alt Bass Page Icon Posted 2014-08-26 2:29 PM
#
Avatar image of Alt Bass
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,038
Location:
Russia
Status:
That does not refer to image backup, right?
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2014-08-26 5:09 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
14,756
Location:
Fields End, UK
Status:
windows backup in Windows Vista+ if saved to the local file system will perform a differential backup from the first full. If saved to the network it will only ever perform a full.
What it doesn't do is allow time state restoration, to do that you need to save to different file shares on different days and run lots of full backups.
 Top of the page
Alt Bass Page Icon Posted 2014-08-27 1:53 PM
#
Avatar image of Alt Bass
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,038
Location:
Russia
Status:
I am talking about this: http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/restore-computer-from-sy...

System stores .vhd file in a special directory. After I made new backup I found only one vhd file.
 Top of the page
Alt Bass Page Icon Posted 2014-08-31 6:25 PM
#
Avatar image of Alt Bass
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,038
Location:
Russia
Status:
Quote
The platform firmware has corrupted memory across the previous system power transition. Please check for updated firmware for your system.


This thing is fearing me. Should I be scared? I have already expirienced problems with hibernation - system hungonce during restore and once during hibernation.

I have latest drivers for VGA, audio, chipset and I have latest BIOS (it is still beta after many years though).
 Top of the page
Alt Bass Page Icon Posted 2014-08-31 6:26 PM
#
Avatar image of Alt Bass
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,038
Location:
Russia
Status:
After a bit of Googling I can say that many LGA775 Gigabyte mobos are suffering from this.
 Top of the page
Alt Bass Page Icon Posted 2014-09-18 6:42 AM
#
Avatar image of Alt Bass
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,038
Location:
Russia
Status:
Quote
C:Amie - 2014-07-07 12:34 AM

Why wouldn't it hibernate? You just need enough disk space to byte swap into.


I won't "hibernate" if "hybrid sleep" is turned on. In this case Windows only shows "Sleep" in power menu and not "Hibernate".
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2014-09-19 8:21 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
14,756
Location:
Fields End, UK
Status:
That's not a bug, it's a feature, has been since Vista
 Top of the page
Alt Bass Page Icon Posted 2014-09-19 10:17 PM
#
Avatar image of Alt Bass
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,038
Location:
Russia
Status:
Why not just add "Hybrid sleep" to power menu?

Features...
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2014-09-20 10:25 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
14,756
Location:
Fields End, UK
Status:
Technically hybrid sleep is the sleep state, once windows works out that it is sleeping for an extended period it should copy RAM down to disk and then go back to S3. I think the idea was that S1 is not psychologically desirable as it effectively forces you to reboot the machine, so people who want instant on are put off.
 Top of the page
Alt Bass Page Icon Posted 2014-09-20 5:56 PM
#
Avatar image of Alt Bass
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,038
Location:
Russia
Status:
S1 is just S0 with clocks stopped and even fans are spinning. Did you erratically swap S1 and S3?

Judging by the disk activity I thought that hybrid sleep is dumping RAM immediately for the case of power loss.

Edited by Alt Bass 2014-09-20 6:02 PM
 Top of the page
Alt Bass Page Icon Posted 2014-10-09 12:38 PM
#
Avatar image of Alt Bass
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,038
Location:
Russia
Status:
Quote
Alt Bass - 2014-06-05 8:33 PM

Quote
C:Amie - 2014-06-05 12:40 AM

Meta data, photo, music, video.

Web certainly will have to be processed into the index. How big is the database for Windows search?


I see now.

How can I learn the databse size? It indexed 1 400 000 files when I stopped it.

I also see no way of unchecking "content indexing" for all file types, did Microsoft doom me for tons of clicking?

And the file search is dull - I cannot mention separately the filename fragment and contents fragment, I cannot tell what date should be used for search - "access", "modify" or "create" date. I almost miss Win XP but well, Total Commander is fine.



I now turned off "Allow indexing of file contents on this drive" and added it to index. It even says:
Quote
Indexing speed is reduced due to user activity.
in the indexing options dialog and I am not disturbed by indexing anymore.

I also found some precisely named options after a bit of googling: http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows7/advanced-tips-for-searc...

And some info from MSDN too:
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa965711%28v=vs.85%29.aspx
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa965362%28VS.85%29.aspx

I could really like Windows Search even if I needed to read all of this. I would just like if someone pointed me at this. Even Total Commander has search I do not need to read many manuals to use which.

However I discovered Export Function of MSDN and made a PDF about things which may be useful: http://pabprod.blob.core.windows.net/books/3fc88280-142e-48dc-b924-...

Edited by Alt Bass 2014-10-09 1:01 PM
 Top of the page
Alt Bass Page Icon Posted 2014-10-09 3:16 PM
#
Avatar image of Alt Bass
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,038
Location:
Russia
Status:
UPON ROLLING BACK FROM RESTORE POINT WINDOWS DELETED EXE FILES FROM MY DESKTOP FOLDER.

THEY ARE DOCUMENTS TOO MICROSOFT!

goddamit
goddamit
goddamit
goddamit
goddamit
goddamit
goddamit
goddamit
goddamit
goddamit
goddamit
goddamit
goddamit

Not that I didn't restore previous version of desktop filder but hey...

Edited by Alt Bass 2014-10-09 4:05 PM
 Top of the page
Alt Bass Page Icon Posted 2014-11-02 8:44 AM
#
Avatar image of Alt Bass
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,038
Location:
Russia
Status:
So, after Search Indexer parsed metadata of 1,5mln files, Windows takes up to 1 minute for each search and does not find any files given specific filename fragments.

Edited by Alt Bass 2014-11-02 8:45 AM
 Top of the page
hpc:factor« View previous thread · Off Topic · View next thread »

Jump to page : First : Prev : ... 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 : Next : Last
Now viewing page 10 [15 messages per page]

Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.125 - Cached queries : 71 - Executed queries : 8
Server Time now is: Monday, 24 June 2019 - 14:42