x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

7" Netbook with touchscreen

Rich Hawley Page Icon Posted 2014-08-26 8:59 PM
#
Avatar image of Rich Hawley
Global Moderator
H/PC Guru

Posts:
7,188
Location:
USA
Status:
So I bought this netbook on eBay a couple weeks ago...bad power plug, but I fixed it.

CE6 Sylvania SYNET7WID-R

Then I thought, hmmm...wonder if I could get a touchscreen to work with it. Well I pulled out my old resistive touchscreen, model EPT4500UG-B.

Copied over the driver files into the Windows folder, imported the registry files, rebooted...and viola...it works. Since the touchscreen is larger than the LCD, I just taped it to the lid with plastic electrical tape, but it was just to test to see if it would work...and it does. After calibration, I loaded up a paint program and using my trusty stylus, wrote my name....

Cool, fun, and no big deal...but it occupied an otherwise boring afternoon.



(usb1.jpg)



(usb2.jpg)



(usb3.jpg)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments usb1.jpg (266KB - 0 downloads)
Attachments usb2.jpg (184KB - 0 downloads)
Attachments usb3.jpg (360KB - 0 downloads)
 Top of the page
roychanyl Page Icon Posted 2014-08-27 2:36 AM
#
Avatar image of roychanyl
Factorite (Senior)

Posts:
86
Location:
Malaysia
Status:
that's cool.
just where can I get hold of such a touchscreen component?
 Top of the page
CE Geek Page Icon Posted 2014-08-27 7:09 AM
#
Avatar image of CE Geek
Global Moderator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
12,667
Location:
Southern California
Status:
I've been wondering if the Sylvania WEC 7 ROM included working touchscreen drivers, since I've started experimenting with some cheap 7" Via 8650 tablets. (Needless to say, I didn't expect so, since none of the Sylvania CE netbooks had touchscreens.) Gonna check that out with one of those tablets.

BTW, I did recently see a 7" WM8850 Android netbook on eBay that claimed a touchscreen (within the identical outer shell to all these other 7" netbooks). I'm wondering if there really are some of these out there. Put in a true suspend state and you have a real H/PC.

BTW2, that paint program looks like PDAcraft Paint, a nice freeware paint program written for .NET CF:

http://www.pdacraft.com/paint.php
 Top of the page
Rich Hawley Page Icon Posted 2014-08-27 12:20 PM
#
Avatar image of Rich Hawley
Global Moderator
H/PC Guru

Posts:
7,188
Location:
USA
Status:
CEGeek: Spot on!

Roychanl: They are all over eBay...just search for 4 wire resistive touch screen, here is an example:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/7-0-7-inch-4-Wire-Resistive-Touch-Panel-Scr...

http://www.ebay.com/itm/4-Wire-Resistive-Type-4Big-Pins-USB-Touch-S...

 Top of the page
roychanyl Page Icon Posted 2014-08-28 5:57 AM
#
Avatar image of roychanyl
Factorite (Senior)

Posts:
86
Location:
Malaysia
Status:
Thanks a lot for the info and link, Rich.
 Top of the page
Jake Page Icon Posted 2014-08-29 2:15 PM
#
Avatar image of Jake
Moderator
H/PC Vanguard

Posts:
2,826
Location:
Choking on the stench of ambition in Washington DC
Status:
Well done, Rich. There are touchscreen kits customized for the Asus EEE series but I never had the cojones to open up the device and install.

Jake
 Top of the page
CE Geek Page Icon Posted 2014-08-30 11:04 AM
#
Avatar image of CE Geek
Global Moderator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
12,667
Location:
Southern California
Status:
Quote
CE Geek - 2014-08-26 11:09 PM

I've been wondering if the Sylvania WEC 7 ROM included working touchscreen drivers, since I've started experimenting with some cheap 7" Via 8650 tablets. (Needless to say, I didn't expect so, since none of the Sylvania CE netbooks had touchscreens.) Gonna check that out with one of those tablets.


No dice on that. I thought there'd be a chance because some folks on the TechKnow forums had reported a working touchscreen with the Sylvania CE 6 ROM on their WM8505 tablets.
 Top of the page
Rich Hawley Page Icon Posted 2014-08-30 4:57 PM
#
Avatar image of Rich Hawley
Global Moderator
H/PC Guru

Posts:
7,188
Location:
USA
Status:
It is so simple to add the touchscreen. When I get home in a month or so, I think I will try to mod my 8505 to permanently use the touchscreen.

Stay tuned in October to watch the latest issue of "Hack with Rich!"??
 Top of the page
Jake Page Icon Posted 2014-08-30 9:52 PM
#
Avatar image of Jake
Moderator
H/PC Vanguard

Posts:
2,826
Location:
Choking on the stench of ambition in Washington DC
Status:


Jake
 Top of the page
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.171 - Cached queries : 67 - Executed queries : 9