x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

Modding: CF to PCMCIA convertor

Snappy! Page Icon Posted 2005-07-14 9:22 PM
#
Avatar image of Snappy!
H/PC Elder

Posts:
1,712
Location:
New Mexico, US
Status:
Casio Cassiopeia CompactFlash To PCMCIA
Slot Converter Guide

by Lee Xiaoming

Translated by Chai

http://www.adriansrojakpot.com/Other_Articles/CF_PCMCIA/Converter_0...

This guide allows one to use a pcmcia card in a CF slot. Cannot think of a HPC that has no pcmcia slot, though the reverse is true and can be easily solved with a pccard adapter.

Have fun!
 Top of the page
matrixcore Page Icon Posted 2005-07-14 11:22 PM
#
Avatar image of matrixcore
H/PC Elite

Posts:
627
Location:
The Matrix
Status:
Actually, there are some PCMCIA to CF adapters in the market. Try ebay
 Top of the page
Zapper Page Icon Posted 2005-07-14 11:38 PM
#
Avatar image of Zapper
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
138
Status:
For those who would rather buy a solution, this might be simpler for you.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=6782509541&rd=1&...



::EDIT::

Jeez, MC.. Talk about spooky. We seem to be operating near the same frequency, mate!

Edited by Zapper 2005-07-14 11:47 PM
 Top of the page
wallythacker Page Icon Posted 2005-07-14 11:47 PM
#
Avatar image of wallythacker
H/PC Elder

Posts:
2,156
Location:
Barrie, Ontario
Status:
Is there a reason this wouldn't work on any other brand device? IIRC, I saw an arm tablet on ebay awhile back with 2 CF slots, but no pcmcia. I don't have time to track down a link , but IIRC it had 128mb ram and CE 3.0 and a large 64k color screen, all for about $200.

200mhz from an E-125? Wow, if the mips in that unit performs like my mips in my 6651 in relation to arms it must be mighty speedy.

How about wiring two CF slots in parallel? Wouldn't there be a line or two that selects the proper card? I thought the CF spec has lines to allow that. Just that mod alone would bump a lot of older ppcs into the very "expandable" class.

My j565 would fill so many more needs with a 2nd cf. Would the pcmcia mod allow me to use a pcmcia USB card? Then I could run a USB nic, my GPS and my 40gb jukebox. Wow!
 Top of the page
Alex_the_Greek
Alex_the_Greek Page Icon Posted 2005-07-15 6:39 AM
#
Status:
wallythacker - 2005-07-14 11:47 PM


My j565 would fill so many more needs with a 2nd cf. Would the pcmcia mod allow me to use a pcmcia USB card? Then I could run a USB nic, my GPS and my 40gb jukebox. Wow!



I really do not think it would work due to the lack of drivers... It would be awesome though.

By the way, I just figured out a silly way to "create" a... PCCard reader for PCMCIA hard drives

Using this...

http://www.fleamarket.gr/lot.cfm?lotID=3228054

(18 euros in greece, on ebay it should be cheaper)

...and this...

Zapper - 2005-07-14 11:38 PM
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=6782509541&rd=1&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWA%3AIT&rd=1





The prementioned adapter is also available through expansys, but it more expensive.

http://www.expansys.com.gr/product.asp?code=105200&sbadd=105200

Regards, Alex
 Top of the page
Snappy! Page Icon Posted 2005-07-15 9:23 AM
#
Avatar image of Snappy!
H/PC Elder

Posts:
1,712
Location:
New Mexico, US
Status:
hehe ... guess that article dates back a long long time ago ...

SD->CF adapter
grrr ... where were they when I needed them awhile back!!
 Top of the page
adrianovrm
adrianovrm Page Icon Posted 2005-08-10 3:21 PM
#
Status:
Aid me guys !! . The pcmcia slot of the Jornada 720 and 728 support 32 bit pcmcia to CF adaptors cards or just 16 bit ones ? Can l plug other kinds of CF cards onto this adaptors, like cameras or Cf ethernet or each adaptor is designed of each application ?
 Top of the page
cmonex Page Icon Posted 2005-08-10 4:40 PM
#
Avatar image of cmonex
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,175
Location:
Budapest, Hungary
Status:
wallythacker - 2005-07-15 5:47 AM

200mhz from an E-125? Wow, if the mips in that unit performs like my mips in my 6651 in relation to arms it must be mighty speedy.


i'm actually wondering if it depends only on the cpu.
based on my experiences i'd say no (and anyway it's a truth well-known enough).
just look at the benchmarks on rothberger.net, devices with the same cpu (for example xscale pxa255 400 Mhz) don't perform equally.
(and the difference isn't only because of a different version of OS..)

Edited by cmonex 2005-08-10 4:47 PM
 Top of the page
cmonex Page Icon Posted 2005-08-10 4:44 PM
#
Avatar image of cmonex
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,175
Location:
Budapest, Hungary
Status:
adrianovrm - 2005-08-10 9:21 PM

Aid me guys !! . The pcmcia slot of the Jornada 720 and 728 support 32 bit pcmcia to CF adaptors cards or just 16 bit ones ? Can l plug other kinds of CF cards onto this adaptors, like cameras or Cf ethernet or each adaptor is designed of each application ?


NO to both questions
so bad news and good news as well.
 Top of the page
sophisticatedleaf Page Icon Posted 2005-08-10 5:03 PM
#
Avatar image of sophisticatedleaf
H/PC Elder

Posts:
2,294
Location:
Sunny California
Status:
Just in case if you misinterpreted cmonex... pcmcia to cf card adaptors can hold cf cards that have functions other than flash memory. That includes any cf card that you can get a driver for on CE.
 Top of the page
cmonex Page Icon Posted 2005-08-10 6:11 PM
#
Avatar image of cmonex
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,175
Location:
Budapest, Hungary
Status:
ProgramSynthesiser - 2005-08-10 11:03 PM

Just in case if you misinterpreted cmonex... pcmcia to cf card adaptors can hold cf cards that have functions other than flash memory. That includes any cf card that you can get a driver for on CE.


no news to me. i don't understand why you mentioned this.. this is exactly why i said no (and good news) to adrianovrm's question... so you're the one who misinterpreted things (maybe i really wasn't clear enough, sorry for that )

edit:

i meant it this way:

Quote

or each adaptor is designed of each application ?


NO

Edited by cmonex 2005-08-10 6:14 PM
 Top of the page
adrianovrm
adrianovrm Page Icon Posted 2005-08-10 10:00 PM
#
Status:
Supposing that l can only use a 16 bits CF TO PCMCIA cards,
so L can't use Cf memory upper than 512M. Is that true ?
L read in some thread that a can use a CF memory up to 2G , Must be only in CF slot of the jornadas 7xx <- is this correct ?

 Top of the page
cmonex Page Icon Posted 2005-08-10 10:30 PM
#
Avatar image of cmonex
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,175
Location:
Budapest, Hungary
Status:
adrianovrm - 2005-08-11 4:00 AM

Supposing that l can only use a 16 bits CF TO PCMCIA cards,
so L can't use Cf memory upper than 512M. Is that true ?
L read in some thread that a can use a CF memory up to 2G , Must be only in CF slot of the jornadas 7xx <- is this correct ?



no, not correct!
16bit doesnt have anything to do with that..
jornadas can read cards up to 32GB in theory, 2GB *surely* works!
 Top of the page
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.203 - Cached queries : 63 - Executed queries : 13