x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 

Latest Forum Activity

hp620lx and questions

latinvixen Page Icon Posted 2005-08-01 4:01 PM
#
H/PC Newbie

Hello, I am new here and just found this site thanks to a friend . I want to post upfront that I am sorry if this is a repost of any kind but I am confused with a few things.

I just found an hp 620lx ( it only has the power cord, no cable to connect to the pc) that was given to me a while ago but I had never found a use for it..appart from playing solitare back in the day. Now that I found it again I wanted to know how much I could do with it.

I just read that you can get online with it with one of the wireless cards. I have never tried it and was wondering how hard it was to install the drivers on the HPC, or is it all done through the active sync?. I am totally new to this so bear with me.

The main things I want this HPC to do are these:
-be able to go online and view most sites (not to sure how much I can view with the browser it has)
-Go on AIM and yahoo messenger
-Go on irc
-Be able to check my email

I was also wondering if I could use my cellphone as a modem. I have a treo 650 that has infrared but was wondering if I could use that one to connect it to the HPC and be able to go online at all?.

Thanks for reading guys
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2005-08-01 5:24 PM
#
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Greetings & welcome to HPC:Factor.

You will really want to get yourself connected to ActiveSync 3.8. This can be done equally well through Infrared as through a serial cable. You need to do this once before you can sync using a network.

For wireless cards, you will want to install SP1, the HPC:Factor NSP (downloads, support and patching), and of course drivers. Which will of course require a compatible card. The best place to research that is in the HCL (Hardware).