x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

Too many cabs to choose from..........

Scala Page Icon Posted 2005-08-03 5:51 PM
#
Avatar image of Scala
Factorite (Junior)

Posts:
40
Status:
Anyone know which cab to use on my intermec?
cab.i486
cab.i586
cab.i686
cab.r3000
cab.r4111
cab.r4300
cab.sa1100
Happened to me a couple times...

I have to install program and to go activesync dir to get cabs because no dir connection to my HPC.
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2005-08-03 6:05 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
17,979
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
This may be of some use to you:
http://www.hpcfactor.com/support/cesd/d/0004.asp

The Intermec has a 3922 processor, so use r3000.
 Top of the page
Scala Page Icon Posted 2005-08-03 6:56 PM
#
Avatar image of Scala
Factorite (Junior)

Posts:
40
Status:
Nope that doesn't work. I'll try them all and see which one works
 Top of the page
wallythacker Page Icon Posted 2005-08-03 7:09 PM
#
Avatar image of wallythacker
H/PC Elder

Posts:
2,156
Location:
Barrie, Ontario
Status:
With one or two exceptions I've always used the 4xxx.cab and had success. Try the highest numbered 4xxx cab at first Methinks the MIPS 4xxx series is totally code compatible with the TX3922 installed in our 6651s.

It fooled and confused me at first too. Took me a *long* time to sort them all out as I started with several devices with different cpus at once. Add to that palm size cabs, ppc cabs, and cabs called install.cab (how intelligent is that?) it was an adventure

Hindsight tells me this whole realm of different cpus only hindered the growth of the hpc.

Edited by wallythacker 2005-08-03 7:14 PM
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2005-08-03 7:17 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
17,979
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
4000's are uni mips generally. Others are specific encodes, so if you have a 4121 cab, only use on a 4121 cpu, for example.

 Top of the page
wallythacker Page Icon Posted 2005-08-03 7:45 PM
#
Avatar image of wallythacker
H/PC Elder

Posts:
2,156
Location:
Barrie, Ontario
Status:
So would I get better performance if I had the source for say, GSplayer, and compiled it for the 3922 I could expect better performance or stability?

Are there pull down flags to set a specific mips in the compiler? The developing/compiling is old old but all new to me since um, 85?
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2005-08-04 6:31 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
17,979
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
It should improve performance... a little.
I can't conclusively help you on the correct compiler flags within the CE dev tools, you'd best try the developer board with that question.
 Top of the page
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.140 - Cached queries : 63 - Executed queries : 10