x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

compact flash size limit? (hp 620lx)

moki Page Icon Posted 2021-03-03 5:53 AM
#
Avatar image of moki
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
15
Location:
United States
Status:
Sorry if this has been asked before, but I recently bought a HP 620LX and am planning to use a type 1 compact flash card with it. Is there a storage size limit for what can be used on Windows CE? Or will any size card work?

Also is compact flash the best option for storage and data transfer or is there something better?

Thanks
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2021-03-03 7:39 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
15,648
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
 Top of the page
moki Page Icon Posted 2021-03-03 7:54 AM
#
Avatar image of moki
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
15
Location:
United States
Status:
ah thanks
 Top of the page
fwilhelm Page Icon Posted 2021-03-03 11:33 AM
#
Avatar image of fwilhelm
Subscribers
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
24
Location:
United States
Status:
Windows 2.10 (with the enhancement pack & all QFE's), 2.11, 3.0 and Windows CE .net

Supported FAT implementations: FAT12 / FAT16 / FAT32 / TFAT (CE .net only)

Maximum Native Partition Size: 32GB

Maximum Non-Native Partition Size: 32TB (Theoretical)

Maximum Supported Volume: 8 GB (INT13)

Maximum Cluster Size: 32KB
NT cluster sizes up to 64KB are not supported

Object Store Size: 16 MB (2.x) | 256MB (CE3+

Max File Size (Object Store): 32MB

Max File Size (FAT): 4GB theoretical, in practice no larger than available system memory



Thanks for posting this question, and thanks for the summary article in response (with the data above). I am curious myself, as in my Jornada 720 (HPC2000), I insert a 32GB card and only get 8GB of available storage recognized. I assume the 8GB is the "maximum supported volume" stated above.

Is there any way to increase what the Jornada reads to more than 8GB?
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2021-03-03 12:12 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
15,648
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
Try increasing the cluster size to 32K
 Top of the page
fwilhelm Page Icon Posted 2021-03-03 7:47 PM
#
Avatar image of fwilhelm
Subscribers
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
24
Location:
United States
Status:
Thanks... stupid question: where does one increase the cluster size?
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2021-03-04 9:16 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
15,648
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:


It's the allocation size on the format dialogue (right click the drive > format). It used to be the case that you couldn't use the GUI to format FAT32 that way, so you may have to use the command line, a third party tool or Linux.

You want FAT32 and 32K.

These are FAT32 [cluster] spec's:
512 MB to 8,191 MB [4 KB]
8,192 MB to 16,383 MB [8 KB]
16,384 MB to 32,767 MB [16 KB]
Larger than 32,768 MB [32 KB]
 Top of the page
fwilhelm Page Icon Posted 2021-03-06 9:52 PM
#
Avatar image of fwilhelm
Subscribers
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
24
Location:
United States
Status:
Thanks, I tried this with 2 different CF cards:

Sandisk Extreme 32GB, which is now read by the J720 as having indeed 32GB available.

Kingston 32GB, which still shows only 8GB available even after formatting it as FAT32 with 32KB allocation size.

 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2021-03-07 7:56 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
15,648
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
That doesn't make sense, it would suggest that it hasn't actual taken the 32k.

Clean the drive and try it again.
 Top of the page
hpc:factor« View previous thread · Handheld PC General Discussion · View next thread »
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.156 - Cached queries : 64 - Executed queries : 10
Server Time now is: Sunday, 18 April 2021 - 0:39