x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

Windows 95 IBM 330 ActiveSync 3.1

« Prev ... 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 ... Next »
NarakuITA Page Icon Posted 2022-06-06 8:36 PM
#
Avatar image of NarakuITA
Subscribers
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
419
Location:
Italy
Status:
I haven't touched anything. For now it's all default. I'll try to change something, so as to make it lighter.
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2022-06-06 8:38 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,675
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
Post a screenshot of the settings tab in control panel > display with the start menu open?
 Top of the page
NarakuITA Page Icon Posted 2022-06-06 10:21 PM
#
Avatar image of NarakuITA
Subscribers
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
419
Location:
Italy
Status:


 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2022-06-06 11:16 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,675
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
Yep, that's the shell update
... but you screen shot control panel > system

I said control panel > display > settings
 Top of the page
NarakuITA Page Icon Posted 2022-06-07 8:51 AM
#
Avatar image of NarakuITA
Subscribers
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
419
Location:
Italy
Status:
Quote
C:Amie - 2022-06-06 11:16 PM

Yep, that's the shell update
... but you screen shot control panel > system

I said control panel > display > settings

Here are your display settings.
https://ibb.co/vwRMh58

Edited by NarakuITA 2022-06-07 8:52 AM
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2022-06-07 10:53 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,675
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
Okay, you've got most of it. Try this:
Start > run > regedit
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control Panel\Desktop\WindowMetrics
Create a new String Value called Shell Icon BPP with a decimal value of 16
Reboot
 Top of the page
NarakuITA Page Icon Posted 2022-06-07 2:11 PM
#
Avatar image of NarakuITA
Subscribers
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
419
Location:
Italy
Status:
OK done. Visually, nothing seems to have changed.
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2022-06-07 3:15 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,675
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
Should have changed the desktop icons

Registry key: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control Panel\Desktop\WindowMetrics
Parameter: Shell Icon BPP
Type: string
Description: Set this parameter to 4 for 16 color icons, 8 for 256 color icons, 16 for 65536 color icons, 24 for 16 million color icons.
 Top of the page
NarakuITA Page Icon Posted 2022-06-07 3:54 PM
#
Avatar image of NarakuITA
Subscribers
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
419
Location:
Italy
Status:
All right! However, it is only a test. As soon as everything else arrives, I change the operating system. I'm curious to see how Windows 2000 sp4 will fare.
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2022-06-07 4:03 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,675
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
While a 100MHz CPU is a bit on the low side (2000 technically wants 133). If it can get through the installer, it should run okay.
 Top of the page
NarakuITA Page Icon Posted 2022-06-07 4:38 PM
#
Avatar image of NarakuITA
Subscribers
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
419
Location:
Italy
Status:
I will keep you updated. The material should arrive, all within 15 days.
 Top of the page
NarakuITA Page Icon Posted 2022-06-10 4:59 PM
#
Avatar image of NarakuITA
Subscribers
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
419
Location:
Italy
Status:
Bad news, I wanted to try to install the MATROX G450 Dual VGA graphics card, and to my sadness, it is just not possible to insert it into the PC !!! The slots do not match ..... what a pity!
Just out of curiosity, if I wanted to take a more powerful card, how do I know which ones are compatible and can be inserted into my PC?

Edited by NarakuITA 2022-06-10 5:19 PM
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2022-06-10 8:41 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,675
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
Can you post a photo of the GPU's connector that won't fit? It's either AGP or 3.3v I imagine.
 Top of the page
NarakuITA Page Icon Posted 2022-06-10 9:44 PM
#
Avatar image of NarakuITA
Subscribers
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
419
Location:
Italy
Status:
Look, to make me understand better I have highlighted the part that does not fit. Maybe I expressed myself badly before. it is the slot of the PC case.

 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2022-06-10 10:27 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,675
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
Oh, it's the bracket height? That card has an ATX bracket, do you need a LP? I din't think LP existed back then.

 Top of the page
« Prev ... 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 ... Next »
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.109 - Cached queries : 73 - Executed queries : 8
Server Time now is: Thursday, 6 October 2022 - 14:20