x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 

Latest Forum Activity

Programming on HP Jornada 720

dekanyzs Page Icon Posted 2023-03-20 6:59 AM
#
H/PC Newbie

Hi,
I've just received my Jornada 720 in good condition with it's original accesories. I'd like to try to learn how to program simple apps but I'm not really sure if there is a good interpreter or IDE for this machine or not. The Psions have the built in OPL, which is great. Is there a solution under HPC 2000 for on board developing? I'm not a programmer so any advices will be appreciated.
 Top of the page
torch Page Icon Posted 2023-03-20 9:56 AM
#
Subscribers
H/PC Guru

I don’t have any personal experience doing on device programming but their SCL (Software Compatibility List) here has some listed that you could go through and peruse
https://www.hpcfactor.com/scl/categories.asp?catID=45
 Top of the page
fantablium Page Icon Posted 2023-03-20 7:37 PM
#
Subscribers
Factorite (Elite)

Theres a Java IDE runs java 1.1 I think but it works great on the 720

its in the downloads PersonalJava Environment for Windows CE 1.1 Beta 1

you only need the IDE as the 720 has chaivm on it which is java client - there are loads of free Java programming starter videos and guides online

Huw
 Top of the page
torch Page Icon Posted 2023-03-20 8:44 PM
#
Subscribers
H/PC Guru

Also, there's another one for programming in the SCL if you're ever interested in coding for multimedia focused applications - and it's frequently updated (new release last week)
I haven't tried it, but they focus on testing for Jornada 720 amongst other platforms.

https://www.hpcfactor.com/scl/2101/Alexander_Zolotov/Pixilang/version_3.8.3b

But, I think fantablium's suggestions are likely more what you're looking for. I was simply suggesting a more obscure use case if you were looking for that.
 Top of the page