x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

Windows CE CAB ceload - copy file to root file system

1 2
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2023-09-02 12:14 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
17,990
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
I'll kick this out to the world as I am out of ideas on this at the moment

Does anyone know how to get a CE CAB installer to copy to the root of the object store/file system?

[CEStrings] AppName="Test" InstallDir="\" [SourceDisksFiles] "file1.txt" = 1 [DestinationDirs] FilePath0 = 0,"%InstallDir%"


InstallDir="\" gets the CAB's installer to load at the root

... but FilePath0 = 0,"%InstallDir%" literally creates a folder called \%InstallDir% (with the percentage signs) on the root

FilePath0 = 0,"\" - hangs
So does changing the \ to
.
..
%SystemDrive%
%Root%
\Windows\..
%24% (which is the driver CAB macro for SystemDrive root)
%18% which is one higher than the last valid %17% macro for \Windows\Favourites
%CE%
%CE0%

I cannot see anything in the strings table in wceload.exe that is helpful.

If someone wants to try looking at the macro list on their device, this might tell them - it doesn't work on my CE 2.00.

#include main() { wchar_t b[64]; int i; char *s[64]; for (i=0; i<65536; i++) { if (SHGetSpecialFolderPath(0, b, i, 0)) { wcstombs(s, b, 64); if (s[0] != '\0') printf("%d - [%s]\n", i, s); } } }


I cannot find any reference or hack to perform a root copy. It doesn't see to be something that anyone has ever asked about either.
 Top of the page
torch Page Icon Posted 2023-09-02 4:17 PM
#
Avatar image of torch
Subscribers
H/PC Guru

Posts:
5,738
Location:
United States 
Status:
How do I pull up the macro list on my devices ? I’ll run it through and report back.
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2023-09-02 7:04 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
17,990
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
You have to compile the above in eVC
 Top of the page
thenzero Page Icon Posted 2023-09-03 3:31 AM
#
Avatar image of thenzero
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
749
Location:
United States
Status:
No dice on the sig3-

0 - [\Windows\??????]
2 - [\Windows\?????]
5 - [\My Documents]
6 - [\Windows\?????]
7 - [\Windows\???????]
8 - [\Windows\?????????]
20 - [\Windows\Fonts]
40 - [\profiles\default]
 Top of the page
torch Page Icon Posted 2023-09-03 4:08 AM
#
Avatar image of torch
Subscribers
H/PC Guru

Posts:
5,738
Location:
United States 
Status:
Here's for Windows CE 6.0 x86
Show spoiler...
0 - [\Hard Disk\Desktop] 2 - [\Hard Disk\Programs] 5 - [\My Documents] 6 - [\Windows\Favorites] 7 - [\Hard Disk\StartUp] 8 - [\Windows\Recent] 11 - [\Hard Disk\Programs] 16 - [\Hard Disk\Desktop] 20 - [\Windows\Fonts] 36 - [\Windows] 38 - [\Hard Disk\Program Files] 40 - [Hard Disk\Documents and Settings\default]

Windows CE 4.2 ARMV4
Show spoiler...
0 - [\Windows\Desktop] 2 - [\Windows\Programs] 5 - [\My Documents] 6 - [\Windows\Favorites] 7 - [\Windows\StartUp] 8 - [\Windows\Recent] 11 - [\Windows\Programs] 16 - [\Windows\Desktop] 20 - [\Windows\Fonts] 26 - [\Application Data] 36 - [\Windows] 38 - [\Program Files] 40 - [\profiles\default]



Edited by torch 2023-09-03 4:09 AM
 Top of the page
torch Page Icon Posted 2023-09-03 6:51 AM
#
Avatar image of torch
Subscribers
H/PC Guru

Posts:
5,738
Location:
United States 
Status:
@C:Amie
@thenzero made a lot of progress on this.
Let’s pause further work on your end until he and I can team up on some cabs I have to generate first (and he after the fact edits the directory )

Will follow up once I’m done with my holiday weekend shenanigans
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2023-09-03 10:16 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
17,990
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
Thanks for looking those up - it is interesting to see how much variance there is on core devices compared to platforms!

https://www.hpcfactor.com/support/cesd/200273/list_of_windows_ce_cab_installer_directory_id_dirid_macros
 Top of the page
torch Page Icon Posted 2023-09-05 9:06 AM
#
Avatar image of torch
Subscribers
H/PC Guru

Posts:
5,738
Location:
United States 
Status:
x86 is funky with Macros

For Program Files\ \TEST the cab tries to copy to Program Files\\TEST which obviously fails

^But in CE4.2 ARM doing Program Files\ \TEST is the only way for it to work and have it save into Program Files\TEST

Then when I tried to make it just be Program Files\ TEST, the system tries to copy the files into a directory in root called ProgramFilesTEST.

So I thought we could either:
1-give up on x86 since it's so weird with stuff in general, and just have the cab install to the root of Program Files and call it a day
2-if you'd like to continue, I mean, we can
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2023-09-05 9:33 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
17,990
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
Or we could work out the problem and code the fix into CAB Maker

Is the problem x86, that CE 6 is behaving differently or your device is just plain odd? Perhaps IDFB would be willing to test your CAB's on CE 5 and see what happens there - and if anyone else has a CE 6 device, similarly?
 Top of the page
torch Page Icon Posted 2023-09-05 9:37 AM
#
Avatar image of torch
Subscribers
H/PC Guru

Posts:
5,738
Location:
United States 
Status:
I wasn’t giving up. I just didn’t want to take this too far if it’s a pain for you

I’m happy to help test as long as necessary.

Edited by torch 2023-09-05 9:39 AM
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2023-09-05 9:41 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
17,990
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
If it is fixable, I'd rather CAB Maker reflect that
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2023-09-05 11:22 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
17,990
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
I've had another go at patching that out, if you try it now, it might work fine?
 Top of the page
torch Page Icon Posted 2023-09-05 3:55 PM
#
Avatar image of torch
Subscribers
H/PC Guru

Posts:
5,738
Location:
United States 
Status:
YASSSSSS GAGA!

That worked!!

Thank you to all of the help of @C:Amie and @thenzero !

Both of your help was vital.

It worked under Program Files\ TEST
I didn't try Program Files\ \TEST
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2023-09-05 4:12 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
17,990
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
I got Gaga'd again. I've learned this is good
 Top of the page
torch Page Icon Posted 2023-09-06 6:46 AM
#
Avatar image of torch
Subscribers
H/PC Guru

Posts:
5,738
Location:
United States 
Status:
Okay, I guess we can try to figure this out on Windows CE 2.0 if you're interested. I used these cab maker settings:

Install location: root
Install path file #1: Base install path, second box blank
Install path file #2: Program Files\, second box TEST

I opened the cab on Windows CE 2.0 MIPS (MobilePro 700) and it defaults to selecting root, then when I click ok, I get an error "Setup Failed, Test was not installed correctly, please try again"

I don't think CE 2.0 macros like root at all.

Can you walk me through how to compile your macro program to make a CE2.0 version?
 Top of the page
1 2
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.280 - Cached queries : 72 - Executed queries : 9