x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

Developing eVB apps on Windows 11

I dunk for bananas Page Icon Posted 2024-03-03 3:23 PM
#
Avatar image of I dunk for bananas
H/PC Elite

Posts:
711
Location:
Europe
Status:
eVB 3.0 works just fine on Windows 11 and even the device emulator installs and runs just fine - the only issue is that executing eVB files remotely (eVB 3.0 => emulator) doesn't work, it just throws an error message. Could this be fixed?
(I know I should be using a VM for this)
 Top of the page
torch Page Icon Posted 2024-03-03 3:45 PM
#
Avatar image of torch
Subscribers
H/PC Guru

Posts:
5,811
Location:
United States 
Status:
Do eVB or eVC install and let you compile programs too on Windows 11?
 Top of the page
I dunk for bananas Page Icon Posted 2024-03-03 4:46 PM
#
Avatar image of I dunk for bananas
H/PC Elite

Posts:
711
Location:
Europe
Status:
torch - 2024-03-03 3:45 PM


Do eVB or eVC install and let you compile programs too on Windows 11?


Haven't tried eVC but eVC works fine, it just doesn't connect to the emulator
 Top of the page
WinCEDev Page Icon Posted 2024-03-03 7:07 PM
#
Avatar image of WinCEDev
Factorite (Senior)

Posts:
79
Location:
Europe
Status:
Can you tell us what error message you are getting?
Personally, I do all my eVB/eVC development on Windows 11 and while the emulator has some quirks it works fine for the most part.
 Top of the page
torch Page Icon Posted 2024-03-09 5:33 AM
#
Avatar image of torch
Subscribers
H/PC Guru

Posts:
5,811
Location:
United States 
Status:
WinCEDev - 2024-03-03 12:07 PM


Can you tell us what error message you are getting?
Personally, I do all my eVB/eVC development on Windows 11 and while the emulator has some quirks it works fine for the most part.

Do eVB / eVC work with compiling programs on Windows 11?
The emulator isn’t really an issue for me. I guess I was just asking so if I could just install locally instead of having to use a VM.
 Top of the page
WinCEDev Page Icon Posted 2024-03-10 7:47 PM
#
Avatar image of WinCEDev
Factorite (Senior)

Posts:
79
Location:
Europe
Status:
Yes, that all works fine for me.

One of the minor issues I tend to encounter is that eVB (and presumably eVC too but I don't use it as much) will fail to connect to the emulator after deploying the app a couple times. Restarting the emulator will often fix it, but if that fails, ending explorej.exe and cemgr.exe in Task Manager usually gets it going again.

Another one is that the eVB program sometimes starts up but does not become visible. When that happens, deploying the app again will fail with the error "Copy Failed (Error Code = 0xLX) The file \Project1.vb is locked by another process and can not be copied.". Ending pvbload.exe and redeploying will solve that.
 Top of the page
torch Page Icon Posted 2024-03-15 3:29 AM
#
Avatar image of torch
Subscribers
H/PC Guru

Posts:
5,811
Location:
United States 
Status:
I dunk for bananas - 2024-03-03 9:46 AM


torch - 2024-03-03 3:45 PM


Do eVB or eVC install and let you compile programs too on Windows 11?


Haven't tried eVC but eVC works fine, it just doesn't connect to the emulator


WinCEDev - 2024-03-10 12:47 PM


Yes, that all works fine for me.

One of the minor issues I tend to encounter is that eVB (and presumably eVC too but I don't use it as much) will fail to connect to the emulator after deploying the app a couple times. Restarting the emulator will often fix it, but if that fails, ending explorej.exe and cemgr.exe in Task Manager usually gets it going again.

Another one is that the eVB program sometimes starts up but does not become visible. When that happens, deploying the app again will fail with the error "Copy Failed (Error Code = 0xLX) The file \Project1.vb is locked by another process and can not be copied.". Ending pvbload.exe and redeploying will solve that.

Thank you both for your help

My last question for you both is:
Are you successfully updated to eVC 4 Service Pack 4 as well under Windows 10/11? I read somewhere that eVC 4 SP4 can cause issues with Vista or higher, but perhaps that's isolated to the Japanese version of the tools
 Top of the page
I dunk for bananas Page Icon Posted 2024-03-27 2:35 PM
#
Avatar image of I dunk for bananas
H/PC Elite

Posts:
711
Location:
Europe
Status:
Hello! Sorry for the late reply! I reinstalled it while selecting all optional elements in the installer and it's been working like a charm!
 Top of the page
torch Page Icon Posted 2024-04-02 6:00 AM
#
Avatar image of torch
Subscribers
H/PC Guru

Posts:
5,811
Location:
United States 
Status:
Ah ok, I get a "VB6HPCPRO.OLB" could not be registered error upon trying to use EVB - thus it doesn't load. EVC 3.0 works great on Windows 11 though
 Top of the page
WinCEDev Page Icon Posted 2024-04-02 6:10 PM
#
Avatar image of WinCEDev
Factorite (Senior)

Posts:
79
Location:
Europe
Status:
That usually happens when eVB has not been run as administrator at least once to register those components, could that be the case?
 Top of the page
torch Page Icon Posted 2024-04-02 11:37 PM
#
Avatar image of torch
Subscribers
H/PC Guru

Posts:
5,811
Location:
United States 
Status:
Doh! That worked! Thank you
 Top of the page
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.156 - Cached queries : 69 - Executed queries : 8