x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

Vertical lines 320LX while using CF card

1 2
Jake Page Icon Posted 2024-03-11 8:04 PM
#
Avatar image of Jake
Moderator
H/PC Vanguard

Posts:
2,839
Location:
Choking on the stench of ambition in Washington DC
Status:
I've never seen that before. Usually, the screen starts failing with a line of blown pixels or so, but nothing like those pix, and those lines don't ever come back. I understand that the cf card works in Windows, but it might be worth an ebay foray to pick up another card, just to test. And you can never have too many cf cards.

Jake
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2024-03-11 8:22 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
18,059
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
That means it is corrupting the screen buffer. If it's not something in the CF card corrupting a bus. If you are hesitant to tear it down, then I would start by getting a different CF card to confirm if it is the card.

The cheapest I can find on eBay is £0.99 + shipping -

Alternately, you can pick-up a PCMCIA to CF adapter for less than £6 shipped.

Otherwise, this is going to need a tear down and a lot of testing if it is fixable.
 Top of the page
Iiw384 Page Icon Posted 2024-03-11 8:31 PM
#
Avatar image of Iiw384
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
9
Location:
United Kingdom 
Status:
@Jake, and @C:Amie, many thanks both for the heads up, I really appreciate the steer on this! Cards ordered

Edited by Iiw384 2024-03-11 8:43 PM
 Top of the page
ABBADON Page Icon Posted 2024-03-14 10:07 PM
#
Avatar image of ABBADON
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
146
Location:
Spain 
Status:
Call me stupid, but that behavior reminds me the one seen when you insert a dirty cartridge in a Gameboy: each time you insert it, the screen shows a different blurred/messed version of the Nintendo logo.

Btw: pins look fine

Edited by ABBADON 2024-03-14 10:54 PM
 Top of the page
Iiw384 Page Icon Posted 2024-03-15 4:37 PM
#
Avatar image of Iiw384
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
9
Location:
United Kingdom 
Status:
@ABBADON, many thanks for the input, yeah I cleaned the pins with some contact cleaner, tried a couple of cards in the CF slot but it seems like some issue maybe with the connection inside?

Either way both cards work fine using a PCMCIA adaptor, so that’s something at least!

Thanks again
 Top of the page
ABBADON Page Icon Posted 2024-03-15 7:09 PM
#
Avatar image of ABBADON
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
146
Location:
Spain 
Status:
Probably yes. Something behind the slot, near a group of 7 chips that sits behind the comb of the pins. Also, the slot for the screen's ribbon is very bear, but if it works normally if you don't use a CF card, I bet it won't be the cause. Maybe one of the solder of the comb has gone, and so the bad readings and the lines.

Edited by ABBADON 2024-03-15 7:11 PM
 Top of the page
WallyB110 Page Icon Posted 2024-04-05 1:32 AM
#
Avatar image of WallyB110
H/PC Elite

Posts:
673
Location:
United States
Status:
Anyone try a 360LX screen on a 320LX ? Was reading somewhere that you can/could do this. Curious if anyone has any more info. The cable connects look the same, everything looks like itd plug right in and fit the case. Am i missing something ? Because if this is possible, i have an extra 360LX screen you can have that works to replace your 320LX screen and youd have a white back light which to my eyes is MUCH easier to read than the green backlight.

Just a thought ;-)

 Top of the page
torch Page Icon Posted 2024-04-05 1:36 AM
#
Avatar image of torch
Subscribers
H/PC Guru

Posts:
5,808
Location:
United States 
Status:
WallyB110 - 2024-04-04 6:32 PM


Anyone try a 360LX screen on a 320LX ? Was reading somewhere that you can/could do this. Curious if anyone has any more info. The cable connects look the same, everything looks like itd plug right in and fit the case. Am i missing something ? Because if this is possible, i have an extra 360LX screen you can have that works to replace your 320LX screen and youd have a white back light which to my eyes is MUCH easier to read than the green backlight.

Just a thought ;-)


Per this thread the model number of the 320lx screen is Hitachi SR16H001-T. Not sure if different kinds were used. Does the extra screen you have have a model number shown ?
https://www.hpcfactor.com/forums/forums/thread-view.asp?tid=18885&start=1
 Top of the page
WallyB110 Page Icon Posted 2024-04-05 10:54 PM
#
Avatar image of WallyB110
H/PC Elite

Posts:
673
Location:
United States
Status:
360LX screen part/model #

Hitachi SR16H004-T ;-)

Edited by WallyB110 2024-04-05 10:54 PM
 Top of the page
stingraze Page Icon Posted 2024-04-07 6:47 AM
#
Avatar image of stingraze
Subscribers
H/PC Vanguard

Posts:
3,695
Location:
Japan
Status:
Don't know if this is relevant to this thread but:
https://oldcrap.org/2022/03/17/hewlett-packard-360lx-palmtop-pc/

has high quality images of the HP 360LX parts.
and also:
Hitachi SR16H004-T

-stingraze
 Top of the page
1 2
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.265 - Cached queries : 49 - Executed queries : 27