x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 

Latest Forum Activity

Windows CE and beyond....

Rich Hawley Page Icon Posted 2005-08-16 6:02 PM
#
Global Moderator
H/PC Guru

I've been prophesizing for at least 6 years, back when I had my first Casio E-10, that one day we would see a handheld with an embedded Windows 95. Well obviously that didn't come about, but the principal held true as we now see a few devices with an embedded XP OS.

My question to all of you is this: If it became common place to see micro-sublaptops that had XP as its OS, that it used solid state memory devices such as CF or SD cards, if it had the battery life of an HPC....how many of you would go that route and totally abandon Windows CE?

Just curious how many absolute "die-hards" there are in this motley crew....

Rich
 Top of the page
wd8dky Page Icon Posted 2005-08-16 6:20 PM
#
H/PC Newbie

I would have to consider a few factors before "dieing hard," as it were:

1. Is the new device instant-on? This is important to me. If not, I'd pass.

2. What would the form-factor be? If it were much bigger than my J720 I'd pass.

3. The battery life would *have* to remain on par with my J720. I'd be willing to give up built-in wireless & a full USB implementation for that.

Paul
 Top of the page
wallythacker Page Icon Posted 2005-08-16 6:41 PM
#
H/PC Elder

Well, in a way, aren't we all *settling* for that goal? Instant on, no moving parts, decent software compatibility, good battery life, minimal headaches?

Read my post on lifestyle, if the xp embedded machine avoided all the conventional windows headaches I'd be all over it , provided the cost was *reasonable*.

But I don't see it happening in my lifetime with my price point , sad to day.
 Top of the page
corporate
corporate Page Icon Posted 2005-08-16 6:55 PM
#