x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 

Latest Forum Activity

Other loves? Besides hpcs?

wallythacker Page Icon Posted 2005-08-22 6:11 PM
#
H/PC Elder

Let's show the world we're more dimensional than we present.

After all, any strangers reading the forums would figure the propellors attached to our beanies are wound a tad too tight. So what non-computer related passions do you have? Try to list something interactive, other than just things like watching TV. Any doofus can do that.

Me, my other passions are varied, aircraft among the top of the list. I was a pilot but health has kept me from being the PIC. A good friend, also a pilot, takes me on many fishing trips to remote lakes. I'm the navigater. I don't fish much but find lots of photo ops.

Ham radio was/is a love of mine. This darned internet has put a kibosh on ham. With MSN and email, gprs and cell phones, I don't use my ham stuff to chat anymore.

I also have a neglected 1973 Stratocaster and 1962 Twin reverb amp. I was a fanatic for playing and practising. I plan to play and practice more over the winter. I have a long way to go before the spirit of Jimi Hendrix has anything to worry about.

I have a bag of Contax cameras and precious Zeiss lenses. I had a complete darkroom but gave it up when mooching relatives come for an extended visit. I'll get back to film photography when I rebuild the darkroom, now the leeches are gone.

I had a stint with model helicopters, and still have a Kalt baron with .61 engine in a box. Next year I'll add some mini camera gear and use it and my hpc to tranfer live video. That should be really fun.

I can weld well, with arc/mig/tig/gas and used to make and repair all sorts of things. I'm a "do not toss" guy. Fix it instead. Keep it out of the landfill.