x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

Poll (the real one) about interest in pDOSBox port to HPC

« Prev ... 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next »
Poll (the real one) about interest in pDOSBox port to HPC
OptionResults
Yes, I am seriously interested in pDOSBox port to HPC145 Votes - [100%]
145 Votes [100%]
No, I'm not really interested in the port0 Votes - [0%]

Rocketman Page Icon Posted 2006-05-05 5:33 PM
#
Avatar image of Rocketman
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
343
Status:
I have been having quite a bit of fun with Dosbox on my PC, using it to play old Sierra games (currently playing Gabriel Knight). I have been really impressed with the quality of the emulation. I haven't found a game in my collection that can flumox it. I wrote a brief article about it at:

http://deliverator.silverfir.net/?p=335

I would love to see Dosbox on the HPC!
 Top of the page
torch Page Icon Posted 2006-05-05 5:38 PM
#
Avatar image of torch
Subscribers
H/PC Guru

Posts:
5,541
Location:
United States 
Status:
Yes, I love DosBox on the PC, I have .58, .60, .63, and .65.. Make sure you get .65, it has AVI video capturing of a specific game..
 Top of the page
Rocketman Page Icon Posted 2006-05-05 6:44 PM
#
Avatar image of Rocketman
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
343
Status:
The really cool thing in .65 imo is VESA support, which will allow for many of the more "modern" graphical games to be played.
 Top of the page
CE Geek Page Icon Posted 2006-05-05 10:12 PM
#
Avatar image of CE Geek
Global Moderator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
12,653
Location:
Southern California
Status:
Quote
Rocketman - 2006-05-05 2:33 PM

I have been having quite a bit of fun with Dosbox on my PC, using it to play old Sierra games (currently playing Gabriel Knight). I have been really impressed with the quality of the emulation. I haven't found a game in my collection that can flumox it. I wrote a brief article about it at:

http://deliverator.silverfir.net/?p=335

I would love to see Dosbox on the HPC!


You haven't tried MAME (DOS version) in DOSBox yet? I'd like to see how that works.
 Top of the page
torch Page Icon Posted 2006-05-06 1:53 AM
#
Avatar image of torch
Subscribers
H/PC Guru

Posts:
5,541
Location:
United States 
Status:
I cannot find the download for MAME for DOS on their website.. Later, I will try it under DOSBox..
 Top of the page
1.21GW
1.21GW Page Icon Posted 2006-05-07 5:33 PM
#
Status:
I just put in the 100th vote. Woohoo!

Thanks a million to the developer for even considering this, by the way.

I use DOSBox with linux (Kubuntu 5.10) and have been quite happy with it. It's so easy to use compared to the other DOS emulators I've tried.

Kyle-

Edited by 1.21GW 2006-05-07 5:36 PM
 Top of the page
torch Page Icon Posted 2006-05-07 5:45 PM
#
Avatar image of torch
Subscribers
H/PC Guru

Posts:
5,541
Location:
United States 
Status:
Yeah!! I will go see what wall thinks..
EDIT: I posted.. Link here: http://forum.pocketwall.com/viewtopic.php?p=915#915

Edited by tenjeangosi 2006-05-07 5:55 PM
 Top of the page
Rocketman Page Icon Posted 2006-05-07 6:16 PM
#
Avatar image of Rocketman
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
343
Status:
Does anyone have a HPC (or several) that they would be willing to donate/loan the developer? He currently does not have a HPC to test against.
 Top of the page
torch Page Icon Posted 2006-05-07 6:21 PM
#
Avatar image of torch
Subscribers
H/PC Guru

Posts:
5,541
Location:
United States 
Status:
No offense intended, but can't we test the program ourselves?
 Top of the page
Rocketman Page Icon Posted 2006-05-07 6:26 PM
#
Avatar image of Rocketman
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
343
Status:
It really, really helps to have physical units onhand to test against. Trying to coordinate with testers (and they had better be really dedicated) online would only lenghten and frustrate the development process. That is not to say that a team of beta testers would't be helpful, just that they don't replace having a physical unit to do quick testing against.
 Top of the page
torch Page Icon Posted 2006-05-07 6:28 PM
#
Avatar image of torch
Subscribers
H/PC Guru

Posts:
5,541
Location:
United States 
Status:
Okay, I see.. Nothing to donate/loan for me.. I only have CE 1-2 devices

Edited by tenjeangosi 2006-05-07 6:28 PM
 Top of the page
cmonex Page Icon Posted 2006-05-07 7:41 PM
#
Avatar image of cmonex
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,175
Location:
Budapest, Hungary
Status:
Quote
Rocketman - 2006-05-08 12:16 AM

Does anyone have a HPC (or several) that they would be willing to donate/loan the developer? He currently does not have a HPC to test against.


i could give one j270 maybe but its really bad i dont live in the US..

anyway cool to have finally reached 100 votes... hmm why only now
 Top of the page
torch Page Icon Posted 2006-05-07 9:57 PM
#
Avatar image of torch
Subscribers
H/PC Guru

Posts:
5,541
Location:
United States 
Status:
check out the link i added earlier.. I posted that we got 100 votes and the link to this thread.. Now we wait for the response..
 Top of the page
CE Geek Page Icon Posted 2006-05-08 1:23 AM
#
Avatar image of CE Geek
Global Moderator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
12,653
Location:
Southern California
Status:
Quote
cmonex - 2006-05-07 4:41 PM

Quote
Rocketman - 2006-05-08 12:16 AM

Does anyone have a HPC (or several) that they would be willing to donate/loan the developer? He currently does not have a HPC to test against.


i could give one j270 maybe but its really bad i dont live in the US..


Tell us more about this Jornada 270, cmonex. Never heard of that model.
 Top of the page
Rocketman Page Icon Posted 2006-05-08 1:26 AM
#
Avatar image of Rocketman
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
343
Status:
No teasing, she must be typing awefully fast to have 5000+ posts under her belt. The occasional typo can be forgiven
 Top of the page
« Prev ... 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next »
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.234 - Cached queries : 54 - Executed queries : 31