x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

J720 dark screen problem

genie
genie Page Icon Posted 2005-11-10 8:36 PM
#
Status:
Hi, guys

Does anybody know how to fix this dark screen problem? When the unit is switched on the screen goes fine for a second then reduced its brightness to almost nil - I can see the contours of the windows so I tried increasing/reducing brightness and contrast but it didn't help - installed fresh backup battery, main battery is fully charged, tried soft and hard resets - nothing helps. I wonder if anyone knows how to deal with it or knows someone in Auckland, New Zealand, who can have it fixed?
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2005-11-11 7:49 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
17,924
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
All Jornada screens flair on power up - to differing extents. The chances are your backlight ccfl is on its way out as with use they fade (particularly if its an early build). If it is this then it is technically possible to replace it, and there are threads on the board discussing the ins and outs.
 Top of the page
cmonex Page Icon Posted 2005-11-11 7:57 AM
#
Avatar image of cmonex
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,175
Location:
Budapest, Hungary
Status:
but why is the screen fine for a sec at power up?
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2005-11-11 8:39 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
17,924
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
cmonex - 2005-11-11 12:57 PM

but why is the screen fine for a sec at power up?


"All Jornada screens flair on power up"
 Top of the page
Hurricane John Page Icon Posted 2005-11-11 10:48 AM
#
Avatar image of Hurricane John
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,298
Location:
Florida
Status:
C:Amie - 2005-11-11 8:39 AM

cmonex - 2005-11-11 12:57 PM

but why is the screen fine for a sec at power up?


"All Jornada screens flair on power up"



Unlike forum members?
 Top of the page
genie
genie Page Icon Posted 2005-11-11 9:51 PM
#
Status:
Thanks fir the information - is it safe to assume that I can simply install new screen assymbely to fix this problem?
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2005-11-12 7:31 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
17,924
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
If you do not fancy the idea of drilling down to the CCFL level, then yes you can relpace the entire screen fairly easily with a T6 and some patience.
 Top of the page
genie
genie Page Icon Posted 2005-11-12 10:01 PM
#
Status:
Funny. I found an advise on the board where the guy said that this problem can be related to a loose contact in the screen assembly - I just tightened three bolts under the main battery and it all works like treat!
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2005-11-13 7:13 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
17,924
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
A new one on me, particularily as there is nothing in the screen hinge except for the notification LED.
I'm glad you got it fixed though.
 Top of the page
Jake Page Icon Posted 2005-11-13 10:47 AM
#
Avatar image of Jake
Moderator
H/PC Vanguard

Posts:
2,790
Location:
Choking on the stench of ambition in Washington DC
Status:
>> I found an advise on the board where the guy said that this problem can be related to a loose contact in the screen assembly - I just tightened three bolts under the main battery and it all works like treat! <<

Oh, if only Psions could be so easily repaired

Jake
 Top of the page
genie
genie Page Icon Posted 2005-11-13 3:37 PM
#
Status:
I suspect that it was not the hinge tightening but more like a possible burst of static that returned things to normal. But anyway, thanks for your help, guys!
 Top of the page
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.156 - Cached queries : 65 - Executed queries : 8