x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 

Latest Forum Activity

Patrick
Patrick Page Icon Posted 2004-12-20 4:46 PM
#
Hello,

I have a hitachi eplate that I am trying to figure out. I have a microsoft wireless card and installed the compaq wl100 driver for it. I first did this about two weeks ago when I first got the machine. I was able to connect to my router and access the internet, but was not able to activesync with it (another topic for another day).

Last night I installed a program for controlling the the power up function of the computer. I relized I did not like it but I was unable to remove the program. Being a novice, I thought the best solution was to reset the unit to original state.

To make a long story short....I reloaded the wireless driver, inserted the card and the router and the card are communicating. The wl100 status indicator is green, link quality and signal strength are excellent. but nothing more. I cannot access the internet anymore. After a few minutes, a message appers that says

"DHCP was unable to obtain an IP address. You can reinsert your card later or statically assign an address."

Any thoughts?
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2004-12-20 4:53 PM
#
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Have you setup your SSID and WEP keys correctly. Or tried manual IP assignment?
 Top of the page
Patrick
Patrick Page Icon Posted 2004-12-20 5:11 PM
#
I think the SSID and WEP are set up correct. I can set up the WEP key with a passphrase that I type into the router control and into the handheld unit and the keys come out identical, so the card and the router are communicating.

I am quite the novice at this, so I have not tried to set the IP adresses manually. If I were, is there somewhere that would explain how.

Thanks.
 Top of the page
Snappy! Page Icon Posted 2004-12-20 6:14 PM
#
H/PC Elder

Patrick - 2004-12-20 3:11 PM