x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 

Latest Forum Activity

mmarks Page Icon Posted 2006-02-10 4:01 AM
#
Factorite (Senior)

Has anyone tried to use the new Globalsat SD-502 (SDIO GPS with 512MB RAM built in), their web site states ce.net compatability and it (if it works) make the PHH a great GPS device. Already TomTom 5 runs on it, but of course we cannot use a memory card & GPS card at the same time (unless this works).

M
 Top of the page
Wouter Plaatsman
Wouter Plaatsman Page Icon Posted 2006-02-10 6:02 AM
#
Hi,

I have no experience with that model. I am using another Globalsat product, the BC 337 compact flash gps on my netBook Pro. This gps works fine, for use with TomTom it doesnt need a driver (it makes an extra virtual com port on your handheld, if you set tomtom to use this com port the device works).

Greetings,

Wouter
 Top of the page
takwu Page Icon Posted 2006-02-10 11:02 PM
#
H/PC Elder

It's nice to know your CF GPS works without driver. However, whereas CF is a system bus which can easily add a COM port to the system, I don't think it's the same for an SDIO accessory.

There are drivers on the website for the SDIO adapter, I would suggest trying to install it first.
http://www.globalsat.com.tw/english/download.php?level_id=3
If it fails, well you can be pretty sure it won't work. But if it installs OK, there is still a chance it will work. However there's only one way to find out - somebody has to try it.
 Top of the page
cmonex Page Icon Posted 2006-02-11 1:27 PM
#
H/PC Oracle

i thought the sdio could add a com port too, but i dont know too much about this gps stuff... why arent they the same?
sure you need software to support sdio and not just sd, but still ..
 Top of the page
Pieter
Pieter Page Icon Posted 2006-07-21 9:34 AM
#
Wouter,