x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

C for CE?

1 2
vintagehandhelds Page Icon Posted 2006-03-28 11:37 AM
#
Avatar image of vintagehandhelds
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
328
Location:
United States
Status:
Any free C compilers for my H/PC running Windows CE 2.12?
The only one I know is PocketC and that is shareware.
 Top of the page
tsdave Page Icon Posted 2006-03-28 2:17 PM
#
Avatar image of tsdave
Factorite (Senior)

Posts:
93
Status:
mips ?
vilcc107
http://users.rcn.com/pjsteuert/
search here for a thred on the topic

not mips, i dont know.
 Top of the page
vintagehandhelds Page Icon Posted 2006-03-28 2:29 PM
#
Avatar image of vintagehandhelds
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
328
Location:
United States
Status:
thanks, I'm gonna try the lccMIPS. My Itronix 52000 has a MIPS CPU.
 Top of the page
tsdave Page Icon Posted 2006-03-30 12:56 AM
#
Avatar image of tsdave
Factorite (Senior)

Posts:
93
Status:
I have it working on my NEC790

execution of this code takes about 5 seconds.

main()
{
int x;
int i;
printf("Running a 100 million loops\n";
for(i=0;i<100000000;i++
{
x=.33333333;
}
printf("Done with 100 million loops.\n";
return 0;
}

Edited by tsdave 2006-03-30 1:28 AM
 Top of the page
vintagehandhelds Page Icon Posted 2006-04-02 10:38 AM
#
Avatar image of vintagehandhelds
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
328
Location:
United States
Status:
what folder does it need to be installed into?
 Top of the page
tsdave Page Icon Posted 2006-04-03 2:20 AM
#
Avatar image of tsdave
Factorite (Senior)

Posts:
93
Status:
the only files you need are the mipscc.exe and asm.exe, the rest are the source code. You also need msvcrt.dll and celib.dll

when you call asm.exe be sure not to include the extension like
asm test bld NOT asm test.asm bld

to make exes (using the asms bld command, instead of its run command)
you need to make /exes directory, and copy asm.exe there, and rename it proto.exe when you build it will overwrite that exe then you can copy it and rename it.

you probably want to search for the old post here on HPC factor, you may also try emailing the author :-)

i put the compiler and assembler in /cc

BUT as far as i know there is no linker, so your code can only acces the console , and maybe files but i havent tried them. OR possibly if you have a correctly functioning console configured you may be able to pipe data to your app

I dont think its usable for application development, unless its text only, and calles no standard libraries.

however if someone could figure out how to call a DLL from it, then it would be complete.
 Top of the page
vintagehandhelds Page Icon Posted 2006-04-03 3:29 PM
#
Avatar image of vintagehandhelds
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
328
Location:
United States
Status:
I see so it actually has no editor!
LCC for PC has its own editor. That threw me off because I get an error message saying file not found.
 Top of the page
tsdave Page Icon Posted 2006-04-03 9:52 PM
#
Avatar image of tsdave
Factorite (Senior)

Posts:
93
Status:
the previous version vilcc did have the vi editor and other stuff in the EXE, and the documentation still reflects vilcc, but this was his unreleased stuff for the mobilepro, which he released when i asked him about it last year. But yeah, also it doesnt have an IDE. (except the VI version)
 Top of the page
vintagehandhelds Page Icon Posted 2006-04-05 10:51 AM
#
Avatar image of vintagehandhelds
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
328
Location:
United States
Status:
Quote
tsdave - 2006-04-03 2:20 AM

You also need msvcrt.dll and celib.dll



hey...I can't find .dll versions of those files anywhere on the net.
 Top of the page
tsdave Page Icon Posted 2006-04-05 7:43 PM
#
Avatar image of tsdave
Factorite (Senior)

Posts:
93
Status:
 Top of the page
vintagehandhelds Page Icon Posted 2006-04-06 11:19 AM
#
Avatar image of vintagehandhelds
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
328
Location:
United States
Status:
but the files listed there have .html or .txt extensions...I'm sorry...I just don't get it.
 Top of the page
tsdave Page Icon Posted 2006-04-10 7:17 PM
#
Avatar image of tsdave
Factorite (Senior)

Posts:
93
Status:
the .tar.gz files are archives like .zip

use 7zip to unzip them.
 Top of the page
vintagehandhelds Page Icon Posted 2006-04-12 7:54 AM
#
Avatar image of vintagehandhelds
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
328
Location:
United States
Status:
thanks, I put the appropriate files in the windows folder.
mipsscc starts. with no parameters it just opens a console window where I can't type anything, with one of the programs as parameters it starts then shuts off quickly without any messages or files created.
I can't find the old thread you are talking about.
 Top of the page
tsdave Page Icon Posted 2006-04-19 12:48 AM
#
Avatar image of tsdave
Factorite (Senior)

Posts:
93
Status:
you have to start the console, give it paramaters to tell it the output is pipeable back to the console like this

You also have to setup the environment variables ( i used total commader) for the 'home' path etc. look for a text document on w32console

my .console file in my root directory (for w32console) says

"builtin ls rm mkdir mv cp more dir setenc x exec start exit cls echo read set
pipeable grep find touch cc as proto wget"

my directory listing for "\cc\" (what i called it, i renamed mipscc and asm)

.console
as.exe
cat.exe
cc.exe
cedialogs.dll
cedialogsx.dll
celib.dll
edit.exe
find.exe
grep.exe
msvcrt.dll
touch.exe
w32console.exe
wget.exe

BE CAREFULL about using the unix type file commands such as mv cp etc, I DONT THINK THEY WORK PERFECT.

the registry entries are in \\registry\HKLM\Environment under Total commander
you need the "HOME PATH ROWS UNIXROOTDIR" Variables, you just need to create the Environment 'directory' with total commander, then you can use the w32console command 'SETENV' i think, to add entries.

Look up the documentation for w32console for more help.


 Top of the page
Guest
Guest Page Icon Posted 2006-04-19 8:27 AM
#
Status:
ok so w32console is actually mipscc.exe?
 Top of the page
1 2
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 1.75 - Cached queries : 70 - Executed queries : 10