x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

Problem with Jornada 720 touchscreen and keyboard non responsive

Zenguin Page Icon Posted 2005-01-19 12:27 AM
#
Avatar image of Zenguin
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
4
Status:
After Hardbooting my jornada, The touchscreen and keyboard are non responsive. I havent installed anything new. Its been running fine for months with the current setup. The only thing i can think that i've done different is change the memory settings when running a program that needs more running memory than storage space. I dont think i changed the setting back to what i had it before hardbooting. I dont think i've ever done this before. If you need anymore information i'll be glad to. Any help would be appreciated if any.
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2005-01-19 10:31 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
18,058
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
Zenguin,

If the touch screen and keyboard are not working then this is a hardware fault. Changing the RAM partitioning will not cause this, although a lot say that this is the last action they remember doing differently before hand. There is nothing to suggest that this is in any way a cause of the experienced problems.

Try hard resetting the device again. Leaving all power sources out for 20 min.
Restore Backup, then main battery then AC and boot it up

Does that fix it, do you hear the system chime the startup sound?
 Top of the page
Zenguin Page Icon Posted 2005-01-19 2:29 PM
#
Avatar image of Zenguin
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
4
Status:
Forgive my ignorance but Restore backup?
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2005-01-19 2:54 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
18,058
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
restore (the) backup (battery), then main battery
 Top of the page
Zenguin Page Icon Posted 2005-01-20 12:15 AM
#
Avatar image of Zenguin
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
4
Status:
Ah was not sure if there was a backup like say a bootdisk for windows. Soon as i find a tool to get at the battery (or runs dead) i'll let ya know how it comes out, Thanks.
 Top of the page
cmonex Page Icon Posted 2005-01-20 1:23 AM
#
Avatar image of cmonex
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,175
Location:
Budapest, Hungary
Status:
"Soon as i find a tool to get at the battery (or runs dead) i'll let ya know how it comes out, Thanks."

you don't need to get a tool at all try it and you'll see.
 Top of the page
Zenguin Page Icon Posted 2005-01-21 4:26 AM
#
Avatar image of Zenguin
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
4
Status:
The backup battery? yes the little round battery its very easy to get out of. I'm talking about the main battery. Yes i know it wasent obvious, but it was obvious to me and thats what counts! Am i mistaken to think that there is a internal rechargable battery within the unit itself. Behind the 6 obscure screws?
 Top of the page
cmonex Page Icon Posted 2005-01-21 7:51 AM
#
Avatar image of cmonex
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,175
Location:
Budapest, Hungary
Status:
no, there isn't any internal battery
just take the main battery and the backup battery off and leave the 720 alone for at least one hour. (some minutes should be enough but not always!! interesting...)
 Top of the page
domicio
domicio Page Icon Posted 2005-10-12 4:42 AM
#
Status:
my keyboard is not working porperly
 Top of the page
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.234 - Cached queries : 48 - Executed queries : 28