x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

Review: Book Digital Co. SmartBook G138 (Flashback)

[Frozen]
« Prev ... 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 Next »
Frozen
chazco
chazco Page Icon Posted 2006-09-19 11:18 AM
#
Status:
What cells does the Smartbook normally come with? 2200 or 2000? If i put new batteries in will they need to be calibrated somehow? 1960 seems a bit low, so i'm not sure if i should do it yet.
 Top of the page Quote Reply
chiark Page Icon Posted 2006-09-19 11:25 AM
#
Avatar image of chiark
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,330
Location:
North of England
Status:
I believe C:amie offered you a superb deal on a new cells - suggest you take advantage of that if you can.
 Top of the page Quote Reply
chazco
chazco Page Icon Posted 2006-09-19 12:10 PM
#
Status:
Trouble is C:Amie appeared to be in a bit of a hurry, and i have no money for the time being. If the offer is still available C:Amie would you accept cash via post?
 Top of the page Quote Reply
Ceya Page Icon Posted 2006-09-19 10:19 PM
#
Avatar image of Ceya
H/PC Elite

Posts:
703
Status:
mine came with two Samsung IRC 18650, one 2200 and the other 2000. they are marked Samsung SDI
IRC 18650-22,IRC 18650-20.

S/F,
CEYA!
 Top of the page Quote Reply
cmonex Page Icon Posted 2006-09-20 4:48 AM
#
Avatar image of cmonex
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,175
Location:
Budapest, Hungary
Status:
no need to reprogram battery.

but if it indeed comes with a 2000 and a 2200 mAh cell..... well, dont expect it to last long! crazy!!
 Top of the page Quote Reply
Ceya Page Icon Posted 2006-09-20 2:50 PM
#
Avatar image of Ceya
H/PC Elite

Posts:
703
Status:
Cmonex, It did indeed come like that or I wouldn't have said it.

Maybe that is what is happening to his G138.

chazco,
Did you take the plastic off yet?

 Top of the page Quote Reply
chazco
chazco Page Icon Posted 2006-09-24 11:14 AM
#
Status:
Not yet... possibly later.

I'm having trouble searching the forum... can anyone explain (pictures even better) how you open a Jornada battery (the 728 one). I'm going to put the cells from that into it.
 Top of the page Quote Reply
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2006-09-24 11:44 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
17,974
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
Weird how your device has a mix and match in it. You certainly wont be getting the benefit of the 2200 one
Chazco's has two Samsung ICR18650-22's in it.

Unfortuantely when Chazco approached me re new cells, I had already sent the order through and it was too late to ammend. I will however make him the priority if I have and spare after my various projects.

To get into a Jornada battery, effectively you have a vacuum moulded casing sealed around two cells and a charge circuit. the charge circuit is in the extrusion region where the pins are. The only way you can get into it is with a sharp stanley knife and a LOT of very careful cutting. Scratch up the charge circuit and it'll never work again and impact the cell significantly with a sharp steel blade and bad time will be had by all.
 Top of the page Quote Reply
chazco
chazco Page Icon Posted 2006-09-24 12:19 PM
#
Status:
I think i'll leave it then... sounds too risky. (just found the video of the exploding Dell laptop)

If C:Amie can spare some cells then i'll send the pack to him. If not i'll probably HPC:Bay it (its no use without power)

btw... its now down to just 43%

Edited by chazco 2006-09-24 12:21 PM
 Top of the page Quote Reply
chazco
chazco Page Icon Posted 2006-09-25 1:06 PM
#
Status:
Just thought i'd post this in case its any use:

GPRS Speed Test Results
I found a PAYG solution that offers unlimited GPRS in the UK (works out at £30 a month, but can be turned on/off on a daily basis), and i've taken the chance to run some of the speed test pages (normally expensive over GPRS) to see how the G138 handles it.

Note: All tests were on mains power and performed around mid-day.

From a suburban location, on a stationary surface:
Maximum Speed: 82Kbps
Average Speed: 49Kbps

From a rural location, on a stationary surface:
Maximum Speed: 52Kbps
Average Speed: 27Kbps

From a moving vehicle (powered by an inverter), held roughly level:
Maximum Speed: 32Kbps
Average Speed: 12Kbps

Those speeds would seem to be GPRS 8 speeds, which is quite good.

I'd really like to be able to use this speed, so am hoping C:Amie will have some spare cells. If not i'll try to find some and see if he can fit them

Edited by chazco 2006-09-25 1:07 PM
 Top of the page Quote Reply
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2006-09-25 3:01 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
17,974
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
Whatever happens Chazco, I'll make up the new battery for you, no charge. Don't worry there

The GPRS information is very interesting, thanks for taking the time to test and to post. I guess you're really free now
 Top of the page Quote Reply
chazco
chazco Page Icon Posted 2006-09-25 3:34 PM
#
Status:
Quote
Whatever happens Chazco, I'll make up the new battery for you, no charge. Don't worry there

Thanks, was hoping for that

Quote
The GPRS information is very interesting, thanks for taking the time to test and to post. I guess you're really free now

No problem
 Top of the page Quote Reply
Ceya Page Icon Posted 2006-09-26 1:16 AM
#
Avatar image of Ceya
H/PC Elite

Posts:
703
Status:
I was working on getting you some batteries.


S/F,
CEYA!

 Top of the page Quote Reply
chazco
chazco Page Icon Posted 2006-09-26 12:17 PM
#
Status:
I've been looking at cells but will wait until C:Amie knows for certain
 Top of the page Quote Reply
chazco
chazco Page Icon Posted 2006-09-27 12:45 PM
#
Status:
Any idea when you'll know if you have some spare cells C:Amie?
 Top of the page Quote Reply
« Prev ... 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 Next »
Frozen
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.203 - Cached queries : 64 - Executed queries : 9