x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

How do I connect to free hotspots?

Hfd Page Icon Posted 2005-03-04 10:43 PM
#
Avatar image of Hfd
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
8
Location:
United States
Status:
Hello Everyone:

I have a HP Jornada 720, and an Avaya Silver WiFi PC card. When I insert the card, it is seen by the 720. My question is when I am in a known free hotspot
area, how do I connect, since my card seems to see the hotspots, but will not
connect. Is the a connection program I need to connect, or do I have to have
some type of generic settings on my card to connect? I start the Avaya client
software which says it is searching, but never see any hotspots. This is what the Avaya client program shows:

Client: Ready

Network: Searching
Connection:
AP:
Channel: 10
Encryption: Off

I must confess, I have used my hpc extensively for all other functions, but never needed to use wifi. That has recently changed, hence my need for connectivity knowledge. I thank all of you in advance for your help.

Hfd
 Top of the page
Snappy! Page Icon Posted 2005-03-05 7:40 AM
#
Avatar image of Snappy!
H/PC Elder

Posts:
1,712
Location:
New Mexico, US
Status:
if you set your mode to Ad-hoc and ssid to ANY ... it should connect to most wifi hotspots

Some hotspots require you to "login" by opening up IE (PIE) and clicking on a page. You may need to keep that page open ... sort of their way to know that there is a valid live user online.
 Top of the page
Hfd
Hfd Page Icon Posted 2005-03-07 7:19 PM
#
Status:
Thanks, I will try that.

Hfd
 Top of the page
sophisticatedleaf Page Icon Posted 2005-03-07 11:22 PM
#
Avatar image of sophisticatedleaf
H/PC Elder

Posts:
2,294
Location:
Sunny California
Status:
Anyone know a good boiling water picture?
 Top of the page
Yoldering Page Icon Posted 2005-03-19 10:21 PM
#
Avatar image of Yoldering
H/PC Vanguard

Posts:
2,579
Location:
The Lone Star State
Status:
ProgramSynthesiser - 2005-03-07 10:22 PM

Anyone know a good boiling water picture?

LOL
http://images.search.yahoo.com/search/images?_adv_prop=images&&fr=F...
 Top of the page
sophisticatedleaf Page Icon Posted 2005-03-20 12:47 AM
#
Avatar image of sophisticatedleaf
H/PC Elder

Posts:
2,294
Location:
Sunny California
Status:
 Top of the page
cmonex Page Icon Posted 2005-03-20 10:02 AM
#
Avatar image of cmonex
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,175
Location:
Budapest, Hungary
Status:
what snappy says is ok, however, in most cases it is not "ad-hoc" mode, but "infrastructure". at least that works for me.. ad-hoc is used when there's no access point. (am i wrong?)
and you should not set an IP or DNS, just leave that blank.
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2005-03-20 10:12 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
17,928
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
ad-hoc is peer to peer, with no AP, yes
 Top of the page
sophisticatedleaf Page Icon Posted 2005-03-20 12:24 PM
#
Avatar image of sophisticatedleaf
H/PC Elder

Posts:
2,294
Location:
Sunny California
Status:
Many free ones also connect as linksys, DLINK, and default. Learned that on a trip to L.A.

-Does setting it to ANY mean scan for ssid's? Or is it just a generic ssid.
 Top of the page
evolbabyslime Page Icon Posted 2005-03-21 1:12 AM
#
Avatar image of evolbabyslime
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
13
Status:
My HP Joranada 680e doesn't give me the choice to select "any" ssid.

It only show whatever wireless network is present.

I can connect to my home network w/ no problem however, when I go somewhere else; it finds the network but will not connect.
The wireless card just blinks.

Any suggestions.

I'm going on a trip and would love to bring just the 680e instead of the laptop!
 Top of the page
J0HN Page Icon Posted 2005-03-24 9:25 AM
#
Avatar image of J0HN
Factorite (Junior)

Posts:
33
Status:
What are the security concerns when connecting to free access points? I heard recently that some free access point are designed to collect data. It makes me leary about using them. Should I be concern? Your opinion, please. Thanks.
 Top of the page
vjurkas Page Icon Posted 2005-03-24 11:15 AM
#
Avatar image of vjurkas
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
219
Location:
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Status:
Keep your paswords and other important data encrypted. It does not make a lot of harm if they steal you an installed software. It is very likely that it is useless without your registry...

Anyway, just connecting to a hotspot without the owner's permission is illegal. Would you go to police if someone steals you your wallet while you are robbing a bank
 Top of the page
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.25 - Cached queries : 44 - Executed queries : 34