x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

NEC MobilePro 900

1 2 3
torch Page Icon Posted 2023-04-04 8:29 PM
#
Avatar image of torch
Subscribers
H/PC Guru

Posts:
5,713
Location:
United States 
Status:
Ok so try the original 4.2 rom update in Hpc update that I linked to and let us know!

Thanks for your support!
 Top of the page
sroland81 Page Icon Posted 2023-04-04 8:58 PM
#
Avatar image of sroland81
Subscribers
Factorite (Junior)

Posts:
48
Location:
Uruguay 
Status:
torch - 2023-04-01 4:07 AM


My MobilePro 900 had Windows CE 3.0 on it and I was able to upgrade it to 4.2 by exactly following these steps:
Go here https://www.hpcfactor.com/support/update/
Select NEC
Select MobilePro 900
Select HPc2000/CE 3.0
Select rom images
Download file called: CE 4.2 ROM Image + Boot loader P530_42 2.02 + 4.10BL
Follow these instructions EXACTLY
Quote
Bootloader and Windows CE .net 4.2 ROM Image for the MobilePro 900 Series.
Packaged by HPC:Factor

Installation Instructions
=========================

Prerequisites:
- MobilePro 900/900C
- MobilePro AC Adapter & Power Source

Overview

Bootloader and Windows CE .net 4.2 ROM Image for the MobilePro 900 Series.
Packaged by HPC:Factor

Installation Instructions
=========================

Prerequisites:
- MobilePro 900/900C
- MobilePro AC Adapter & Power Source
- MobilePro Main Battery
- CF Card >=64MB

NOTE: Do not use this version of the flash update if your NEC's Bootloader is already version 4.10.

1. Format the CF card as FAT16 with default cluster sizes
2. Inflate the file download onto the CF card by double clicking hpcf_nec_p530_42-202.exe and pointing to the root of the CF card
3. Save all information you wish to keep on the MobilePro
4. Remove the coin cell battery
5. Ensure that the main battery is inserted and the device is connected to AC
6. It is suggested that users run the NEC Modem Firmware update for their device at this point
7. Insert the CF card into the MobilePro
8. Close any running applications
9. Browse to the CF card and double tap UPDATE.EXE
10. Follow any on screen instructions

The update procedure can take between 5 and 15 minutes and should not under any circumstances be interrupted or experience a change in power state (e.g. disconnection from the AC supply).

During the flash operation, the Bootloader and the Operating System will be updated.

System Requirements

NEC MobilePro 900
Windows CE 3.00 Handheld PC 2000


Is this still valid with CE 3.2 HPC2000 v6.0 and Bootloader 4.10? I tried but when executing UPDATE.EXE it did nothing, the screen went black for a cauple of minutes. I remember different whin did it the first time. Had to remove battery and AC and coin cell and reset the device again. Nothing happened, but don't want to screw thing up.
 Top of the page
torch Page Icon Posted 2023-04-04 9:00 PM
#
Avatar image of torch
Subscribers
H/PC Guru

Posts:
5,713
Location:
United States 
Status:
To be honest I’m not completely sure. What version are you currently on?
Boot loader 4.10 and which rom version?
 Top of the page
sroland81 Page Icon Posted 2023-04-04 9:22 PM
#
Avatar image of sroland81
Subscribers
Factorite (Junior)

Posts:
48
Location:
Uruguay 
Status:
ROM is HPC2000 P530 v6.0
PIC Firmware ID: 4.15.7
Bootloader 4.10
 Top of the page
torch Page Icon Posted 2023-04-05 3:27 AM
#
Avatar image of torch
Subscribers
H/PC Guru

Posts:
5,713
Location:
United States 
Status:
Try this from that other thread I mentioned
Since you already have the correct bootloader, you should just need to flash the ROM image now. So try the 4.2 from H/PC update
Rich Hawley - 2022-10-05 6:59 AM


Now you only need to flash the rom inage.

Format your CF card and copy the xip.bin to it. Insert it.

Pull both main and backup battery with unit unplugged.

Hold down both the C and F keys...plug in ac adapter.While still holding keys...turn on unit...wait a few seconds (30) and then release keys. Should start flashing rom image only...

 Top of the page
sroland81 Page Icon Posted 2023-04-05 5:46 AM
#
Avatar image of sroland81
Subscribers
Factorite (Junior)

Posts:
48
Location:
Uruguay 
Status:
Worked like a charm, thanks. I tried to run JLime but the linux bootloader haret-1.4.8 did nothing. Opens a window that is not fully visible, and asks for a default.txt file. Did not go through that point. Keep digging tomorrow.

Cheers!
 Top of the page
torch Page Icon Posted 2023-04-05 6:45 AM
#
Avatar image of torch
Subscribers
H/PC Guru

Posts:
5,713
Location:
United States 
Status:
Bear with me because I know literally nothing about this, so if I say something you already know...sorry!

From this page:
https://web.archive.org/web/20101227203425/jlime.com/wiki/documentat...
Quote
All the necessary files are located here.

a) Download three files - a userland archive (contains the user interface and the kernel) - a bootloader executable (haret) - a bootloader config file (startup.txt)

NOTE: The Download section contains multiple userland archives. If the most recent one doesn't work for you, try the earlier userlands. This tutorial refers to the userland archive as userland.tar.bz2

Do you have the bootloader config file?
 Top of the page
andrej2112 Page Icon Posted 2023-04-05 5:16 PM
#
Avatar image of andrej2112
Factorite (Junior)

Posts:
45
Location:
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Status:
Does anyone have image of jtag cable conected to NEC mp900 connector?Was here on forum, but now it is a broken link...
 Top of the page
torch Page Icon Posted 2023-04-05 5:42 PM
#
Avatar image of torch
Subscribers
H/PC Guru

Posts:
5,713
Location:
United States 
Status:
Yes it’s there.
Go to H/PC Update->Nec MobilePro 900->Manuals and Documentation->Mobilepro 900 JTag.doc
 Top of the page
sroland81 Page Icon Posted 2023-04-06 1:29 AM
#
Avatar image of sroland81
Subscribers
Factorite (Junior)

Posts:
48
Location:
Uruguay 
Status:
Yes, i have both, the bootloader config, the haret executable and the ext2 partition with the linux files. I'll double check that.

One extra question: Is there any way to edit the keyboard layout in WinCE? Not changing the language, but the key locations, like remapping them to another layout, maybe editing some file or by a third party app?

Cheers!
 Top of the page
torch Page Icon Posted 2023-04-06 1:44 AM
#
Avatar image of torch
Subscribers
H/PC Guru

Posts:
5,713
Location:
United States 
Status:
 Top of the page
sroland81 Page Icon Posted 2023-04-06 5:01 PM
#
Avatar image of sroland81
Subscribers
Factorite (Junior)

Posts:
48
Location:
Uruguay 
Status:
torch - 2023-04-04 3:45 PM


Bear with me because I know literally nothing about this, so if I say something you already know...sorry!

From this page:
https://web.archive.org/web/20101227203425/jlime.com/wiki/documentat...
Quote
All the necessary files are located here.

a) Download three files - a userland archive (contains the user interface and the kernel) - a bootloader executable (haret) - a bootloader config file (startup.txt)

NOTE: The Download section contains multiple userland archives. If the most recent one doesn't work for you, try the earlier userlands. This tutorial refers to the userland archive as userland.tar.bz2

Do you have the bootloader config file?


The problem is that the file zImage is missing from bte boot directory

cp cf_jlime/boot/zImage cf_win/zImage


i copied manually, but the haret launcher does nothing.
 Top of the page
sroland81 Page Icon Posted 2023-04-06 6:02 PM
#
Avatar image of sroland81
Subscribers
Factorite (Junior)

Posts:
48
Location:
Uruguay 
Status:
Well! i made it! i booted into linux, for some reason, the startup.txt file was empty. Now it is fixed. JLime boots ok but i cannot suspend the device, is there any catch for this? It remains powered on and the only thing i can do is close the lid and the screen will turn off, but no suspend. Power button does nothing. I'm doing quite nice progress!! thanks!
 Top of the page
torch Page Icon Posted 2023-04-06 6:12 PM
#
Avatar image of torch
Subscribers
H/PC Guru

Posts:
5,713
Location:
United States 
Status:
According to this page
https://www.hpcfactor.com/forums/forums/thread-view.asp?tid=8389&sta...
as of 2007 it wasn't working yet, but I don't know if you're using a newer build than that or the same..
 Top of the page
sroland81 Page Icon Posted 2023-04-06 6:31 PM
#
Avatar image of sroland81
Subscribers
Factorite (Junior)

Posts:
48
Location:
Uruguay 
Status:
I see that the repository has many versions, but i dowloaded userland.tar.gz from this site --> https://duncanbowring.wordpress.com/2021/04/10/nec-mobilepro-900-900...

The repository with "mongo" version is this --> http://repository.hpcfactor.com/public/jlime/repository/mongo/feed/

How can i check that i have the latest userland file corresponding to mongo version?



(e06b7ae0_XmSkDA6TRxeXGAxTF-Zp8w.jpg)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments e06b7ae0_XmSkDA6TRxeXGAxTF-Zp8w.jpg (215KB - 0 downloads)
 Top of the page
1 2 3
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.234 - Cached queries : 72 - Executed queries : 10