x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

Best wwan (GPRS,EDGE or 3g) card for Jornada 720

kopernikus Page Icon Posted 2012-03-23 11:23 AM
#
Avatar image of kopernikus
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
1
Location:
Russia
Status:
Hi to all!

What WWAN card ( GPRS,EDGE or 3G) does guaranteed work at Jornada 720? I've found SIERRA 860 (755 the same), but only firmware and no driwers for it at Sierra site. After my troubles with proxim 7430 (wifi) I'd like to buy any cards for J720 after coleague's positive feedback only
Hope, somebody uses this pair yet (J720&WWAN)?

Thanks.
 Top of the page
arlex Page Icon Posted 2012-03-24 1:13 PM
#
Avatar image of arlex
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
230
Location:
Bucharest
Status:
Quote
kopernikus - 2012-03-23 6:23 AM

Hi to all!

What WWAN card ( GPRS,EDGE or 3G) does guaranteed work at Jornada 720? I've found SIERRA 860 (755 the same), but only firmware and no driwers for it at Sierra site. After my troubles with proxim 7430 (wifi) I'd like to buy any cards for J720 after coleague's positive feedback only
Hope, somebody uses this pair yet (J720&WWAN)?

Thanks.


Hi kopernikus,

There are a few threads you might want to read
http://www.hpcfactor.com/forums/forums/thread-view.asp?tid=16164&st...
http://www.hpcfactor.com/forums/forums/thread-view.asp?tid=14926&po... on Jornada&highlightmode=1#M139854
http://www.hpcfactor.com/forums/forums/thread-view.asp?tid=14957&po...
http://www.hpcfactor.com/forums/forums/thread-view.asp?tid=1186&pos... on Jornada&highlightmode=1#M46744
http://www.hpcfactor.com/forums/forums/thread-view.asp?tid=16209&po... on Jornada&highlightmode=1#M147762

In this thread Isotherm is showing the speed limitation of the pcmcia modem cards for Jornada.
http://www.hpcfactor.com/forums/forums/thread-view.asp?tid=14957&po...
Quote
isotherm - 2010-03-12 2:47 PM
The PCMCIA cards act like serial ports, and this is a common limitation of older serial ports. I never found any way to go beyond 115200 on HPC2000, even with the Sierra Aircards that have their own watcher program.


There is a workaround solution to get 3G on the HPC by using a wireless card and a 3G WI-FI Mobile Modem & Router HUAWEI E5832 as shown in http://www.hpcfactor.com/forums/forums/thread-view.asp?tid=15774&po...

People were talking on this forum about 3G CF modems, but I can't remember on whether that was about cards for wince3.0 or wince4.2. you have to do a search for that.
In any case just check the card compatibility in the section of this forum http://www.hpcfactor.com/hcl/
 Top of the page
meolo2002 Page Icon Posted 2012-03-26 11:13 AM
#
Avatar image of meolo2002
Factorite (Senior)

Posts:
92
Location:
Italy
Status:
Damned wlan cards
I should be interested in this too... if you find any solution.. post it!
Anyway, i've seen that almost every post speak about 3g,didn't exist any old gprs card?


Edited by meolo2002 2012-03-26 11:27 AM
 Top of the page
arlex Page Icon Posted 2012-03-27 5:19 AM
#
Avatar image of arlex
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
230
Location:
Bucharest
Status:
Quote
meolo2002 - 2012-03-26 6:13 AM

Damned wlan cards
I should be interested in this too... if you find any solution.. post it!
Anyway, i've seen that almost every post speak about 3g,didn't exist any old gprs card?


Of course there are the gprs cards, but the connection us slower than 3G. Look for Nokia D211 cards. Or go to the hardware compatibility section of this forum.
 Top of the page
meolo2002 Page Icon Posted 2012-03-27 7:55 AM
#
Avatar image of meolo2002
Factorite (Senior)

Posts:
92
Location:
Italy
Status:
Quote
arlex - 2012-03-27 5:19 AM

Quote
meolo2002 - 2012-03-26 6:13 AM

Damned wlan cards
I should be interested in this too... if you find any solution.. post it!
Anyway, i've seen that almost every post speak about 3g,didn't exist any old gprs card?


Of course there are the gprs cards, but the connection us slower than 3G. Look for Nokia D211 cards. Or go to the hardware compatibility section of this forum.

let's try with the nokia
 Top of the page
CE Geek Page Icon Posted 2012-03-27 8:38 AM
#
Avatar image of CE Geek
Global Moderator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
12,653
Location:
Southern California
Status:
For GPRS, the D211 works well. I used to have the US version (D311) before I upgraded to 3G, and it did the job on my 728.
 Top of the page
meolo2002 Page Icon Posted 2012-03-27 1:18 PM
#
Avatar image of meolo2002
Factorite (Senior)

Posts:
92
Location:
Italy
Status:
I hope this card will works....
anyway, i've read that it works also as wlan card isn't it?
 Top of the page
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.232 - Cached queries : 62 - Executed queries : 11